Skywatchers

Category: Book
By (author): Arcos, Carrie
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Historical / United States / 20th Century
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Politics & Government
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Science & Technology
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Philomel
Published: August 2020
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 368
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in x 0.90in
Our Price:
$ 24.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*From National Book Award Finalist Carrie Arcos comes a thrilling, genre-bending mystery about the history of the Cold War and the UFO phenomenon. Perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and Netflix's Stranger Things.

California, 1952. It's the early years of the Cold War, and the threat of invasion from the Communist-controlled Soviet Union has people in a panic. President Truman has put out a call to civilians to act as radar--and Teddy, John, Caroline, Eleanor, Bunny, Frank, and Oscar eagerly answer. The teens are members of their high school's "Operation Skywatch" club in an effort to protect the country from attack. Across the country, people of all ages are looking to the sky.

But they're not prepared for the strange green light they see when on duty, which looks like nothing they've been trained to look out for. And when the mysterious object lands in the forest, Teddy, John, Caroline, and Bunny go in to investigate. Then they go missing. Three days later, John, Caroline, and Bunny all emerge from the forest--with no memory of what happened. And without Teddy.

Told in alternating points of view, Carrie Arcos expertly explores the unbelievable-but-true history of "skywatchers" during the Cold War and the UFO phenomenon through the eyes of three teens, a man sent to determine the validity of what happened, and a town caught up in fear. Inspired by real events!
Biographical NoteCarrie Arcos (www.carriearcos.com) was born in Albany, New York, and still mourns the day her family left for the West Coast. She earned an MA in creative writing and English literature and writes young adult fiction. She has taught English--both high school level and college. She is also the author of National Book Award finalist Out of Reach; We Are All That's Left; Crazy Messy Beautiful; and There Will Come a Time. Carrie lives in Los Angeles with her husband and three children. Follow her on Twitter @carriearcos.