Around the World in 80 Trees

Category: Book
By (author): Drori, Jonathan
Subject:  ART / Subjects & Themes / Plants & Animals
  NATURE / Plants / General
  NATURE / Plants / Trees
  SCIENCE / Life Sciences / Botany
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: Laurence King Publishing
Published: August 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 240
Size: 9.25in x 6.15in x 1.00in
Our Price:
$ 28.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*"Beautiful to behold and to read" -THE SUNDAY TIMES

"An arboreal odyssey"-NATURE

"One of the most quietly beautiful books of the year"-DAILY MAIL

"Jonathan Drori's deep-seated love of nature is contagious in this tree-by-tree journey across countries and continents. A book to take your time over"-WIRED


Jonathan Drori's number one bestseller, now available in paperback!

Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe.

InAround the World in 80 Trees, Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable. From the trees of Britain, to India's sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration - not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup.

Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin's Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees' soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water.

Each of these strange and true tales- populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts- is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful. The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail- there should be surprises for everyone.

Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben'sThe Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit your local botanic garden. The perfect travel guide for nature enthusiasts.

Winner at the Woodland Books of the Year Awards 2018.

"An irresistible mix of science, culture, botany, history and vicarious travel" -SYDNEY MORNING HERALD
Review Quote*"Around the World in 80 Trees is one of my most treasured volumes in the rather massive library of tree books that I accumulated over the years that I researched and wroteThe Overstory" -Richard Powers, Pulitzer Prize winning author
Biographical NoteJonathan Drori is a Trustee of The Woodland Trust and The Eden Project, an Ambassador for the WWF and was for nine years a Trustee of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. He is a Fellow of the Linnean Society and the Zoological Society of London, and a Member of the Institution of Engineering and Technology. In 2006 he was made CBE.