The Ghost Collector

Category: Book
By (author): Mills, Allison
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Ghost Stories
  JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Native American
  JUVENILE NONFICTION / People & Places / Canada / Native Canadian
Audience: children/juvenile
Publisher: Annick Press
Published: September 2019
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 200
Size: 7.50in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 11.95
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Ghosts aren't meant to stick around forever…

Shelly and her grandmother catch ghosts. In their hair.

Just like all the women in their family, they can see souls who haven't transitioned yet; it's their job to help the ghosts along their journey. When Shelly's mom dies suddenly, Shelly's relationship to ghosts-and death-changes. Instead of helping spirits move on, Shelly starts hoarding them. But no matter how many ghost cats, dogs, or people she hides in her room, Shelly can't ignore the one ghost that's missing. Why hasn't her mom's ghost come home yet?

Rooted in a Cree worldview and inspired by stories about the author's great-grandmother's life, The Ghost Collector delves into questions of grief and loss, and introduces an exciting new voice in tween fiction that will appeal to fans of Kate DiCamillo's Louisiana's Way Home and Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls.

Review Quote*

"[An] original paranormal tale." -Kirkus Reviews, 06/12/19

From The Publisher*
  • Written by a debut author this middle grade story is rooted in Indigenous identity and worldviews (Cree)
  • Explores universal themes of grief and loss, family and friendship
  • A lovely, gentle take on traditional ghost stories, told with deep emotion and empathy