Best Canadian Stories 2019

Category: Book
Edited By: Adderson, Caroline
Series: Best Canadian
Subject:  FICTION / Anthologies (multiple authors)
  FICTION / Canadian
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: Biblioasis
Published: November 2019
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 280
Size: 8.25in x 5.25in x 0.00in
Our Price:
$ 22.95
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Now in its 49th year, Best Canadian Stories has long championed the short story form and highlighted the work of many writers who have gone on to shape the Canadian literary canon. Margaret Atwood, Clark Blaise, Tamas Dobozy, Mavis Gallant, Douglas Glover, Norman Levine, Rohinton Mistry, Alice Munro, Leon Rooke, Diane Schoemperlen, Kathleen Winter, and many others have appeared in its pages over the decades, making Best Canadian Stories the go-to source for what's new in Canadian fiction writing for close to five decades. Selected by guest editor Caroline Adderson, the 2019 edition draws together both newer and established writers to shape an engaging and luminous mosaic of writing in this country today-a continuation of not only a series, but a legacy in Canadian letters.

Review Quote*

Praise for Best Canadian Stories

"A splendid collection." -Quill & Quire

"Best Canadian Stories . . . combines both emerging and established voices for a fascinating glimpse at the most exciting short fiction coming out of this country." -Open Book

"The arrival, late in the fall each year, of [this] collection is always cause for fanfare." -Quill & Quire

"The legacy of this series is massiveā€¦ a literary institution." -Ottawa Citizen

Biographical NoteCaroline Adderson is the author of four novels (A History of Forgetting, Sitting Practice, The Sky Is Falling, Ellen in Pieces), two collections of short stories (Bad Imaginings, Pleased To Meet You) as well as books for young readers. Her work has received numerous prize nominations including the Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award, International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, two Commonwealth Writers' Prizes, the Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist, the Governor General's Literary Award and the Rogers' Trust Fiction Prize. Winner of two Ethel Wilson Fiction Prizes and three CBC Literary Awards, Caroline was also the recipient of the 2006 Marian Engel Award for mid-career achievement.