The Tobacconist

Category: Book
Translated By: Collins, Charlotte
By (author): Seethaler, Robert
Subject:  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Historical
  FICTION / In Translation / German
  FICTION / Jewish
Publisher: House of Anansi Press Inc
Published: October 2016
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 224
Size: 5.50in x 8.50in x 0.68in
Our Price:
$ 24.95
Availability:
Available: 3-10 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Seventeen-year-old Franz Huchel leaves his village and journeys to Vienna to apprentice at a tobacco shop. There he meets Sigmund Freud, one of the regular customers. Over time, an unlikely friendship develops between the two very different men. When Franz falls desperately in love with the vaudeville dancer Anezka, he seeks advice from the renowned psychoanalyst, who admits that the female sex is as big a mystery to him as it is to Franz.

As the political and social conditions dramatically worsen with the annexation of Austria by Hitler's Germany and the Nazis' arrival in Vienna, Franz, Freud, and Anezka are swept into the maelstrom of events. And each has to make a big decision: to stay or to flee?

From The Publisher*Set in Austria in the 1930s, The Tobacconist tells the story of one young man and his friendship with Sigmund Freud during the Nazi occupation of Vienna.
Review Quote*Seethaler writes with great lightness of how reading widely and accumulating wisdom make life richer, but also more complicated.
Review Quote*His unbelievable ease of writing is so pleasant.
Review Quote*Tender, quiet, gentle, poetic - a little treasure.
Review Quote*Seethaler has achieved something uncanny with this novel. He writes with unvarnished simplicity from the heart of a great calamity - but he does it with a lightness we've not seen since Jurek Becker's brilliant debut novel Jacob the Liar.
Review Quote*With this novel Robert Seethaler has created a wonderful tale of adolescence, told with great lightness and humour - but the dark rumblings of the hard times just starting in Vienna are always present in the background.
Review Quote*For me, Seethaler is a great storyteller in the tradition of Polgar and Joseph Roth.
Review Quote*I haven't read a more beautiful book in years.
Review Quote*A book about friendship in difficult times and retaining one's humanity even when scum are in power. A great novel.