The Truth and Lies of Ella Black

Category: Book
By (author): Barr, Emily
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Adoption
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Thrillers & Suspense
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Travel & Transportation / General
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada Teen
Published: February 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 336
Size: 8.50in x 5.88in x 1.05in
Availability:
Unavailable

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*From the author of the "unputdownable" international hit The One Memory of Flora Banks comes a fast-paced cross-continental journey of identity, family, darkness and light, and the ways in which we define ourselves.

Ella Black has always had dark inclinations. She's successfully hidden her evil alter ego from her family and friends, but Bella is always there, ready to take control and force Ella to do bad things. When Ella's parents drag her out of school one afternoon and fly across the globe to Rio de Janeiro with no believable explanation, Bella longs to break free--and so does Ella. Because for all that her parents claim to be doing what's best for her, Ella knows there is something going on that they're not divulging, and she is through with being treated like a child.
     Once in Rio, when Ella learns the truth--that the couple she's always called Mom and Dad are actually her adoptive parents--she runs off through the streets and waterways of Brazil in search of her true self. But the truth has many layers, and as Ella uncovers more and more about her own history, she struggles to come to terms with just where it is that she came from.
     Perfect for fans of Ellen Hopkins and Kathleen Glasgow, The Truth and Lies of Ella Black will have readers on the edge of their seat until the shocking, satisfying end.
Review Quote*"Barr's second YA novel is a fast-paced, dramatic search for answers to the secrets of the self." -- The Guardian
Biographical NoteEMILY BARR (www.emilybarr.com) began her career as a journalist at the Guardian before realizing that she was more drawn toward books. After taking a year to go backpacking for a column assignment, she returned home with the idea for her first book, Backpack, and never looked back. She has since written eleven other books for adults. The One Memory of Flora Banks, her young adult debut and international bestseller, published to critical acclaim in 2017. Emily lives in Cornwall with her partner and their children. Follow her on Twitter @emily_barr. Emily lives in Cornwall with her partner and their children. www.emilybarr.com Twitter: @emily_barr.