Hearts on Fire: Six Years that Changed Canadian Music 2000-2005

Category: Book
By (author): Barclay, Michael
Subject:  BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Composers & Musicians
  MUSIC / General
  NON-FICTION / Canadian
  SOCIAL SCIENCE / Popular Culture
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: ECW Press
Published: April 2022
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 616
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in
Our Price:
$ 39.95
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

An authoritative, unprecedented account of how in the early 2000s Canadian music finally became cool








Hearts on Fire is about the creative explosion in Canadian music of the early 2000s, which captured the world's attention in entirely new ways. The Canadian wave didn't just sweep over one genre or one city, it stretched from coast to coast, affecting large bands and solo performers, rock bands and DJs, and it connected to international scenes by capitalizing on new technology and old-school DIY methods.








Arcade Fire, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Feist, Tegan and Sara, Alexisonfire: those were just the tip of the iceberg. This is also the story of hippie chicks, turntablists, poetic punks, absurdist pranksters, queer orchestras, obtuse wordsmiths, electronic psychedelic jazz, power-pop supergroups, sexually bold electro queens, cowboys who used to play speed metal, garage rock evangelists, classically trained solo violinists, and the hip-hop scene that preceded Drake. This is Canada like it had never sounded before. This is the Canada that soundtracked the dawn of a new century.








Featuring more than 100 exclusive interviews and two decades of research, Hearts on Fire is the music book every Canadian music fan will want on their shelf.

From The Publisher*

Hearts on Fire is a history of five years of triumph for Canadian music and a celebration of the innovative new artists that rose the profile of Canadian music on the international stage. Everyone from The Be Good Tanyas to Broken Social Scene to Feist to Arcade Fire is celebrated in this triumphant tale of unparalleled creativity.

Review Quote*

"This book is catnip for me. There is no Arkells if not for so many of the artists chronicled here. I was a teenager when I started going to clubs to see all of these acts, and it informed so much of the way I think about being in a band. This era of Canadian music is revered in my mind, so it is amazing to have the curtain pulled back to reveal the goals, temperaments, and egos of my heroes. A must read for anyone who wants to celebrate the golden age of Canadian indie rock music." - Max Kerman, Arkells

Biographical Note

Michael Barclay is the author of the 2018 national bestseller The Never-Ending Present: The Story of Gord Downie and the Tragically Hip. He is also a co-author of Have Not Been the Same: The CanRock Renaissance 1985–95, to which this book could be considered a sequel. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.