Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations, 5-Volume Set

Category: Book
Edited By: Hausdoerffer, John
Edited By: Van Horn, Gavin
Edited By: Wall Kimmerer, Robin
Series: Kinship
Subject:  BODY, MIND & SPIRIT / Gaia & Earth Energies
  NATURE / Ecology
  NATURE / Essays
  NATURE / General
  SOCIAL SCIENCE / Anthropology / Cultural & Social
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: Center for Humans and Nature
Published: September 2021
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 942
Size: 7.75in x 5.27in x 5.00in
Our Price:
$ 135.00
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

For readers of Braiding Sweetgrass and The Overstory

From The Center for Humans and Nature, a collection in five volumes: essays, interviews, poetry, and stories of solidarity that highlight the interdependence that exists between humans and nonhuman beings

We live in an astounding world of relations. We share these ties that bind with our fellow humans-and we share these relations with nonhuman beings as well. From the bacterium swimming in your belly to the trees exhaling the breath you breathe, this community of life is our kin-and, for many cultures around the world, being human is based upon this extended sense of kinship.

Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations is a lively series that explores our deep interconnections with the living world. More than 70 contributors-including Robin Wall Kimmerer, Richard Powers, David Abram, J. Drew Lanham, and Sharon Blackie-invite readers into cosmologies, narratives, and everyday interactions that embrace a more-than-human world as worthy of our response and responsibility. These diverse voices render a wide range of possibilities for becoming better kin.

Contents:

  1. Planet: What are the sources of our deepest evolutionary and planetary connections, and of our profound longing for kinship?
  2. Place: To what extent does crafting a deeper connection with the Earth's bioregions reinvigorate a sense of kinship with the place-based beings, systems, and communities that mutually shape one another?
  3. Partners: How do relations between and among different species foster a sense of responsibility and belonging in us?
  4. Persons: Which experiences expand our understanding of being human in relation to other-than-human beings?
  5. Practice: What are the practical, everyday, and lifelong ways we become kin?

 

From the recognition of nonhumans as persons to the care of our kinfolk through language and action, Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations is a guide and companion into the ways we can deepen our care and respect for the family of plants, rivers, mountains, animals, and others who live with us in this exuberant, life-generating, planetary tangle of relations.

Proceeds from sales of Kinship benefit the nonprofit, non-partisan Center for Humans and Nature, which partners with some of the brightest minds to explore human responsibilities to each other and the more-than-human world. The Center brings together philosophers, ecologists, artists, political scientists, anthropologists, poets and economists, among others, to think creatively about a resilient future for the whole community of life.

 

Review Quote*

"This collection is a passionate call to turn towards the living Earth with reverence and respect, and in so doing to cultivate new and old forms of curiosity, of understanding, and of responsibility. Across five captivating volumes, Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations brings together a rich diversity of voices and perspectives. Contributions range in form from poetry to interviews and essays, drawing on and engaging with the insights of Indigenous stories, philosophy, the natural sciences, and much more. Ultimately, this is a collection that does much more than simply describe the webs of relationship that are our world of kin. At the same time, it invites and at times pulls the reader into a sense of the fundamental sharedness of all life and our profound obligations, perhaps now more than ever, to hold open room for others to be and to become in their own unique and precious ways."-Thom van Dooren, author of The Wake of Crows: Living and Dying in Shared Worlds

Review Quote*

"Essential reading about the question of our time: how to belong.  A chorus of beautiful, wise, grieving, exulting, and generative voices, guiding us into true ‘family values' for a wild living Earth. These collections offer rare and rich insight into how to find, honor, and heal the bonds of blood, place, time, and ethics that knit us to all other beings."-David George Haskell, author of The Forest Unseen and The Songs of Trees

Review Quote*

"Sometimes when we are working with a document, when it's growing and changing, we call it "live." Likewise, this book is live. It's full of life. It's living inside you as you read it and you are living inside it. It's changing you and you're changing it. May this book be a living document that guides us toward love and care for all kin."-Janisse Ray, author of Wild Spectacle

Review Quote*

"The Kinship series of books is an ensemble of outstanding essays that reveal the truth that reality is rooted in relationships. After reading these marvellous essays, it becomes crystal clear that there is no reality outside relationships. These books shatter the old story of separation between humans and Nature and explode the belief that nature is a machine and the planet Earth is a dead rock. Here is the new story of the living Earth and a celebration of deep connectivity of life; human as well as more-than-human life. These are inspiring and enlightening essays. They will change your perception of Nature. I recommend these books wholeheartedly!"-Satish Kumar, Founder, Schumacher College, Editor Emeritus, Resurgence & Ecologist

Biographical Note

Gavin Van Horn is the Creative Director and Executive Editor for the Center for Humans and Nature. His writing is tangled up in the ongoing conversation between humans, our nonhuman kin, and the animate landscape. He is the co-editor (with John Hausdoerffer) of Wildness: Relations of People and Place, and (with Dave Aftandilian) City Creatures: Animal Encounters in the Chicago Wilderness, and the author of The Way of Coyote: Shared Journeys in the Urban Wilds. If he's not up a tree or in a kayak, you can find Gavin slow-walking the footpaths, beaches, and forests of the Chicagoland area.

Dr. Robin Wall Kimmerer is a mother, botanist, writer and Distinguished Teaching Professor at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Syracuse, New York and the founding Director of the Center for Native Peoples and the Environment. She is an enrolled member of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation and a student of the plant nations. Her writings include Gathering Moss and Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants. As a writer and a scientist, her interests include not only restoration of ecological communities, but restoration of our relationships to land. She lives on an old farm in upstate New York, tending gardens domestic and wild.

John Hausdoerffer is author of Catlin's Lament: Indians, Manifest Destiny, and the Ethics of Nature as well as co-author and co-editor of Wildness: Relations of People and Place and What Kind of Ancestor Do You Want to Be? John is the Dean of the School of Environment & Sustainability at Western Colorado University and co-founder of Coldharbour Institute, the Center for Mountain Transitions, and the Resilience Studies Consortium. John serves as a Fellow and Senior Scholar for the Center for Humans and Nature.