Things You Can't Say

Category: Book
By (author): Bishop, Jenn
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 10-14
  JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
Publisher: Aladdin
Published: March 2021
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 352
Size: 7.62in x 5.12in
Our Price:
$ 11.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*"A touching and believable story about the ways worries feed on each other, the difference that honesty makes to kids, and how much emotional growth a child...can experience in just a few weeks." -Publishers Weekly
"A sensitive exploration of suicide, forgiveness, and the difficulty of navigating friendships." -Booklist


Perfect for fans of See You in the Cosmos and Where the Watermelons Grow, author Jenn Bishop's powerful novel tells the moving story of a boy determined to uncover the truth.

Nothing is going right this summer for Drew. And after losing his dad unexpectedly three years ago, Drew knows a lot about things not going right. First, it's the new girl Audrey taking over everything at the library, Drew's sacred space. Then it's his best friend, Filipe, pulling away from him. But most upsetting has to be the mysterious man who is suddenly staying with Drew's family. An old friend of Mom's? Drew isn't buying that.

With an unlikely ally in Audrey, he's determined to get to the bottom of who this man really is. The thing is, there are some fears-like what if the person you thought was your dad actually wasn't-that you can't speak out loud, not to anyone. At least that's what Drew thinks.

But then again, first impressions can be deceiving.
Biographical NoteJenn Bishop is the author of the middle grade novels 14 Hollow Road; The Distance to Home, which was a Junior Library Guild selection and a Bank Street College Best Children's Book; Things You Can't Say; and Where We Used to Roam. She grew up in New England, where she fell in love with the ocean, Del's frozen lemonade, and the Boston Red Sox before escaping to college at the University of Chicago. After working as a teen and children's librarian, she received her MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Jenn currently calls Cincinnati, Ohio, home. Visit her online at JennBishop.com.