The Griffins of Castle Cary

Category: Book
By (author): Shumaker, Heather
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 7-10
  JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings
  JUVENILE FICTION / Ghost Stories
  JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published: March 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 320
Size: 7.62in x 5.12in
Our Price:
$ 10.99
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*A charming, adventure-filled debut novel that's perfect for fans of The Penderwicks series.

Siblings Meg, Will, and Ariel Griffin are off on an adventure! They can't wait to spend a week visiting their eccentric aunt and her giant, tongue-drooling Newfoundland dog in England. But when they finally arrive, they're faced with a few local secrets that stir up more than a little trouble.

Add in some very peculiar lights, strange new friends, a police chase and some stampeding sheep, and the Griffin kids are in over their heads. Apparently, this town has a ghost problem and the three children must race to solve the mystery before the ghosts take something that doesn't belong to them.
Review Quote*"The characters are well-rounded and lovable. The novel is fast-paced and easy to follow, with suspenseful scenes that are not too scary and laugh-out-loud funny scenes perfect for young readers who love adventure. Recommended."
Review Quote*"This is a suitable spooky story for readers easing their way into the genre; it includes a few age-appropriate jump scares but relies more heavily on the description to create an eerie vibe. [T]he ghostly fun...keeps up the momentum all the way to the conclusion."
Review Quote*"Delightfully spooky! The Griffins of Castle Cary is a masterfully plotted ghost story that creates the perfect blend between heart and humor. Lovable siblings, persistant ghosts, and one ginormous dog will thrill readers late into the night. This book is charming and easy to love. A perfect read for families!"
Review Quote*"THE GRIFFINS OF CASTLE CARY is a rollicking mystery about the yearnings to be seen, and the love and empathy required to see. It kept me, like the Griffin children, guessing until the very end. I loved it."
Review Quote*"Nothing can stop the intrepid young Griffins. Secrets, danger, and plenty of humor abound in Shumaker's clever debut."
Review Quote*"Well-written, action-packed, and spooky!"