Phone Number
Phone Number

The Sinister Mystery of the Mesmerizing Girl

Category: Book
By (author): Goss, Theodora
Series: The Extraordinary Adventures Of The Athena Club
Subject:  FICTION / Fantasy / General
  FICTION / Fantasy / Paranormal
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Historical
Publisher: Gallery / Saga Press
Published: October 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 448
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 33.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Mary Jekyll and the Athena Club race to save Alice-and foil a plot to unseat the Queen, in the electrifying conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Nebula Award finalist and Locus Award-winner The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter.

Life's always an adventure for the Athena Club...especially when one of their own has been kidnapped! After their thrilling European escapades rescuing Lucina van Helsing, Mary Jekyll and her friends return home to discover that their friend and kitchen maid Alice has vanished-and so has Mary's employer Sherlock Holmes!

As they race to find Alice and bring her home safely, they discover that Alice and Sherlock's kidnapping are only one small part of a plot that threatens Queen Victoria, and the very future of the British Empire. Can Mary, Diana, Beatrice, Catherine, and Justine save their friends-and save England? Find out in the final installment of the fantastic and memorable Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club series.
Review Quote*"Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book."
Review Quote*"Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book."
Review Quote*"Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story.  Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right.

 As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read."
Review Quote**Winner of the Locus Award for Best First Novel*

*Finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Novel*

*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel*
Review Quote** "A tour de force of reclaiming the narrative, executed with impressive wit and insight."
Review Quote*"An enormously accomplished delight of a book...a brilliant novel."
Review Quote*"A pleasure, especially for fans of Victorian detective stories, classic sf and horror literature, and feminist remakes."
Review Quote*"A delightful romp through Victorian gothic literature, with a decidedly feminist slant."
Review Quote*"A swiftly paced, immaculately plotted mystery full of winning characters you always thought you knew, as well as ones you would never have imagined."