This Might Hurt a Bit

Category: Book
By (author): Horner, Doogie
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Published: June 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 336
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 25.95
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*"Full of wit and wisdom, and riotously funny to boot. A phenomenal debut!" -Ransom Riggs, New York Times bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
"As irreverent as it is gratifying." -David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Kids of Appetite and Mosquitoland

A grieving teen faces dangerous classmates, reckless friends, and the one-year anniversary of his sister's devastating death in this poignant, quirky, often humorous novel that's perfect for fans of Jeff Zentner and Brendan Kiely.

Kirby Burns is about to have the second worst day of his life.

Tomorrow is the one-year anniversary of the worst day of his life, and in the three hundred and sixty-four days since then he hasn't stopped running: from his family, his memories, and the horse-sized farm dogs that chase him to the bus stop every morning.

But he can't run forever, and as This Might Hurt a Bit begins, Kirby and his friends PJ and Jake sneak out of his house to play a prank whose consequences follow them to school the next day, causing a chain reaction of mayhem and disaster. It's a story that's touching and funny, an authentic meditation on the pain of loss, and the challenge of getting paint to stick to cows.