The Great Unknowable End

Category: Book
By (author): Ormsbee, Kathryn
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Magical Realism
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published: February 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 400
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in x 1.20in
Our Price:
$ 26.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*From the author of Tash Hearts Tolstoy comes a funny, moving novel about the lengths we'll go to make dreams our dreams come true that's perfect for fans of Shaun David Hutchinson and Rainbow Rowell.

Slater, Kansas, is a small town where not much seems to happen.

Stella dreams of being a space engineer. After Stella's mom dies by suicide and her brother runs off to Red Sun, the local hippie commune, Stella is forced to bring her dreams down to earth to care for her sister, Jill.

Galliard has only ever known life inside Red Sun. There, people accept his tics, his Tourette's. But when he's denied Red Sun's resident artist role, which he believed he was destined for, he starts to imagine a life beyond the gates of the compound...

The day Stella and Galliard meet, there is something in the air in their small town. Literally. So begin weeks of pink lightning, bloodred rain, unexplained storms...And a countdown clock appears mysteriously above the town hall. With time ticking down to some great unknowable end they'll each have to make a choice.

If this is really the end of the world, who do they want to be when they face it?
Review Quote*"THE GREAT UNKNOWABLE END is unlike any book I've read. Take a small-town paranormal mystery, drop in a 70s commune, add a dash of haunting familial histories, and a hefty scoop of Science vs. Art, and voila: a book to delight the likes of Carl Sagan himself. Ormsbee's latest is a big-minded, full-hearted treat of a novel."
Review Quote*It's a rare author who can imagine a story like this. It's a rarer author with the ambition to try it. And it's the rarest of all who can execute it in such lyrical, haunting beauty. Kathryn Ormsbee is that author. Breathtakingly imaginative and ambitious; dazzlingly beautiful and profound. This story of love and fervor will grip you and won't let go. Not even after you've finished. A hauntingly beautiful and wildly imaginative story of faith, fervor, coming of age, and connection. Masterfully rendered and spellbinding."
Review Quote*"Fantastic premise meets perfect execution in this heartfelt and wholly original novel."
Review Quote*"A mesmerizing, trippy, and fantastic story about finding yourself in the most extraordinary circumstances in the most ordinary of places. Ormsbee has written a coming-of-age novel like no other."
Review Quote*"Realism with a hint of science fiction will inspire readers to question their own trajectories."
Review Quote*"Told in alternating perspectives by Stella and Galliard, Ormsbee (Tash Hearts Tolstoy) skillfully parallels nature's disturbances with her characters' internal turmoil to create a suspenseful story about self-discovery and following one's dreams amid a life's complications"