Learning to Breathe

Category: Book
By (author): Mather, Janice Lynn
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Pregnancy
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Sexual Abuse
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published: June 2018
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 336
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 23.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.

Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy's rules-to study hard in school, be respectful, and to never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn't always been easy, especially while living in her mother's shadow.

When Indy is sent to live with distant relatives in Nassau, trouble follows her. Now she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth.

Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if perhaps she's found the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof-it's about the people she chooses to share it with.
Review Quote*"A love letter to girls-bittersweet and full of hope."
Review Quote*"This is a stellar debut."
Review Quote*"A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one's family."
Review Quote*"A raw, beautiful, unforgettable must-read."
Review Quote*"Poetic."
Review Quote*"If you want to understand #MeToo for a sixteen-year old growing up on what many Americans know mostly as a tourist paradise, read Learning to Breathe. Mather is stunning as she shows us Indira's Bahamas, its landscapes, the search of a girl for herself on her island home. Indira will break your heart with her fierce voice and grit in the face of living in a family so damaged they all but abandon this beautiful girl of their own."
Review Quote*"Through well-crafted dialogue, fresh characters, and solid pacing, the book's mature themes are handled carefully and with sensitivity. A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become."
Review Quote*"Much like Ibi Zoboi's American Street, this challenging read confronts injustice and celebrates strength of character and spirit."
Review Quote** "This is a well-written, thought-provoking book that tackles difficult topics such as unwanted pregnancy, familial relationships, and rape, with nuance... A stirring debut for all YA collections."