The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: 42nd Anniversary Edition

Category: Book
By (author): Adams, Douglas
Introduction By: Davies, Russell T
Series: Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy
Subject:  FICTION / Humorous / General
  FICTION / Science Fiction / General
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Published: May 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 224
Size: 7.76in x 5.84in
Our Price:
$ 21.99
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*A special 42nd Anniversary edition of Douglas Adams's mega-selling cult classic, now with exclusive bonus material from the Adams' archives. On October 12, 1979 the most remarkable book ever to come out of the great publishing corporations of Ursa Minor (and Earth) was made available to humanity - The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. It's an ordinary Thursday lunchtime for Arthur Dent until his house gets demolished. The Earth follows shortly afterwards to make way for a new hyperspace express route, and his best friend has just announced that he's an alien. At this moment, they're hurtling through space with nothing but their towels and an innocuous-looking book inscribed, in large friendly letters, with the words: DON'T PANIC. The weekend has only just begun. This edition includes exclusive bonus material from the Douglas Adams archives, and an introduction by former Doctor Who showrunner, Russell T Davies. The intergalactic adventures of Arthur Dent begin in the first volume of Douglas Adams' trilogy in five parts: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy; The Restaurant at the End of the Universe; Life, the Universe and Everything; So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish; and Mostly Harmless.
Biographical NoteDouglas Adams created all the various and contradictory manifestations of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: radio, novels, TV, computer game, stage adaptations, comic book and bath towel. He lectured and broadcast around the world and was a patron of the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund and Save the Rhino International. Douglas Adams was born in Cambridge, UK and lived with his wife and daughter in Islington, London, before moving to Santa Barbara, California, where he died suddenly in 2001. In addition to The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series, he is also the author of the Dirk Gently novels: Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency, The Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul, and the unfinished The Salmon of Doubt. Russell T Davies is a Welsh screenwriter and television producer whose works include Queer as Folk, Bob & Rose, The Second Coming, Casanova, the 2005 revival of the BBC One science fiction series Doctor Who, and the trilogy Cucumber, Tofu, and Banana.