Sisterland

Category: Book
By (author): Simukka, Salla
Translated By: Witesman, Owen Frederick
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 7-10
  JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Published: December 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 208
Size: 8.56in x 5.81in x 0.70in
Our Price:
$ 22.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Fall under the spell of this contemporary fairy tale that's perfect for fans of Emily Winfield Martin's Snow & Rose and the Chronicles of Narnia series.

Alice thought it was unusual to see a dragonfly in the middle of winter. But she followed it until she fell down-down-down, and woke up in a world unlike any other.

Welcome to Sisterland, a fantastical world where it is always summer. The most enchanting magic of all, though, is Alice's new friend Marissa. But as the girls explore the strange land, they learn Sisterland's endless summer comes at a price. Back on Earth, their homes are freezing over. To save their families, Alice and Marissa must outwit the powerful Queen Lili. But the deeper they go into Sisterland, the less Alice and Marissa remember about their homes, their lives before, and what they are fighting for.

This is a wondrous tale about heroism, loyalty, and friendship from one of the most celebrated Finnish children's authors, Salla Simukka.
Biographical NoteSalla Simukka is the author of the internationally bestselling trilogy As Red as Blood, As White as Snow, and As Black as Ebony for young adults, which has sold more than one million copies worldwide. Sisterland is her first middle-grade title in the United States and has been sold in nine additional territories. It was inspired by the fairy tales Salla grew up with. She always wanted to find a portal to a magical world and finally decided to write one for herself--and other readers. Salla has also written several novels and a collection of short stories, translated adult fiction, children's books, and plays, and worked as a TV screenwriter. She lives in Tampere, Finland.@SallaSimukka