The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World-and Globalization Began

Category: Book
By (author): Hansen, Valerie
Subject:  HISTORY / Civilization
  HISTORY / Expeditions & Discoveries
  HISTORY / General
  HISTORY / Medieval
Publisher: Scribner
Published: April 2021
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 320
Size: 8.37in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 26.00
Availability:
In stock soon

Additional Notes

From The Publisher**A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice*

From celebrated Yale professor Valerie Hansen, a "vivid" and "astonishingly comprehensive account [that] casts world history in a brilliant new light" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and shows how bold explorations and daring trade missions first connected all of the world's societies at the end of the first millennium.

People often believe that the years immediately prior to AD 1000 were, with just a few exceptions, lacking in any major cultural developments or geopolitical encounters, that the Europeans hadn't yet reached North America, and that the farthest feat of sea travel was the Vikings' invasion of Britain. But how, then, to explain the presence of blond-haired people in Maya temple murals at Chichén Itzá, Mexico? Could it be possible that the Vikings had found their way to the Americas during the height of the Maya empire?

Valerie Hansen, an award-winning historian, argues that the year 1000 was the world's first point of major cultural exchange and exploration. Drawing on nearly thirty years of research, she presents a compelling account of first encounters between disparate societies, which sparked conflict and collaboration eerily reminiscent of our contemporary moment.

For readers of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel and Yuval Noah Harari's Sapiens, The Year 1000 is a "fascinating…highly impressive, deeply researched, lively and imaginative work" (The New York Times Book Review) that will make you rethink everything you thought you knew about how the modern world came to be.
Review Quote*New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice

"Fascinating … [a] highly impressive, deeply researched, lively and imaginative work."
-The New York Times Book Review
Review Quote*"A gripping account of exploration and ingenuity, sweeping across the economic alliances and great networks of trade that connected disparate regions around the globe….Through this generous and accessible distillation of global history, Ms. Hansen opens our minds to a world where it was still possible to venture, fearlessly, into the unknown."
-Wall Street Journal
Review Quote*"The Year 1000 is a tour-de-force and offers many new ways of thinking about the past."
-The Spectator
Review Quote*"Outstanding…a lively and engrossing book that describes in fascinating detail how trade enriched the world. [Hansen] displays the delightful exuberance of an author deeply in love with her subject."
-The Times (London)
Review Quote*"As Valerie Hansen shows in this fascinating book, much of the inhabited globe already had complex systems of long-distance trade more than a millennium ago."
-The Telegraph (UK)
Review Quote*"Daring…A smart, broad-ranging survey of the global Middle Ages that is learned, thought-provoking-and perfectly tuned to our times."
-London Sunday Times
Review Quote*"[A] meticulous portrayal of the explorers, traders, and rulers who built a complex network which linked a disparate world…deeply engrossing."
-Booklist
Review Quote*"Covers a vast amount of territory in a concise, readable manner…A thoroughly satisfying history of a distant era and people."
-Kirkus
Review Quote*"Vivid and edifying… [Hansen] displays a remarkable lightness of touch while stuffing the book full of fascinating details, and easily toggles between the big picture and local affairs. This astonishingly comprehensive account casts world history in a brilliant new light."
-Publishers Weekly (starred review)