Find You in the Dark

Category: Book
By (author): Ripley, Nathan
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / Thrillers / Crime
  FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological
  FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Published: March 2018
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 368
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in
Our Price:
$ 24.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*In this chilling debut thriller, in the vein of Dexter and The Talented Mr. Ripley, a family man obsessed with digging up the undiscovered remains of serial killer victims catches the attention of a murderer prowling the streets of Seattle.

Martin Reese is obsessed with murder.

For years, he has been illegally buying police files on serial killers and studying them in depth, using them as guides to find missing bodies. He doesn't take any souvenirs, just photos that he stores in an old laptop, and then he turns in the results to the police anonymously. Martin sees his work as a public service, a righting of wrongs that cops have continuously failed to do.

Detective Sandra Whittal sees it differently. On a meteoric rise in police ranks due to her case-closing efficiency, Whittal is suspicious of the mysterious caller-the Finder, she names him-leading the police to the bodies. Even if the Finder isn't the one leaving bodies behind, who's to say that he won't start soon?

On his latest dig, Martin searches for the first kill of Jason Shurn, the early 1990s murderer who may have been responsible for the disappearance of his sister-in-law, whom he never met. But when he arrives at the site, he finds a freshly killed body-a young and recently disappeared Seattle woman-lying among remains that were left there decades ago. Someone else knew where Jason Shurn buried his victims . . . and that someone isn't happy that Martin has been going around digging up his work.

When a crooked cop with a tenuous tie to Martin vanishes, Whittal begins to zero in on the Finder. Hunted by a real killer and by Whittal, Martin realizes that in order to escape the killer's trap, he may have to go deeper into the world of murder than he ever thought.
Review Quote*"A wickedly smart thriller that manages to be both chilling and wry. The page-turning plot . . . is thickened by a great cast of characters and Nathan Ripley's fantastic eye for detail and dialogue. Just when you think you've got a grasp on it, the story twists to new and darker places."
Review Quote*"A fast-paced, morbidly addictive novel of chilling infatuation. Ripley's impressive debut is a rich and innovative thriller." 
Review Quote*"It's not always easy diving into the mind of an obsessive protagonist, but Martin Reese's fixation on finding dead bodies makes for one heck of an addictive thriller. Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley is an original, inventive take on what happens when you go looking where you shouldn't. Start reading early in the day, or you'll be up all night like I was! A standout debut novel."
Review Quote*"An unsettling exploration of obsession you won't soon forget. Nathan Ripley delivers a first novel that fans of Patricia Highsmith psychological thrills and Thomas Harris cat-and-mouse suspense will devour. I certainly did."
Review Quote*"Crafty and dark, Nathan Ripley's novel toys with the lines between predator and prey, his sentences as careful and considered as the crimes he depicts. Ripley is a truly exciting new voice in the thriller world."