European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman

Category: Book
By (author): Goss, Theodora
Series: The Extraordinary Adventures Of The Athena Club
Subject:  FICTION / Fantasy / General
  FICTION / Historical
  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Publisher: Saga Press
Published: April 2019
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 736
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 22.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*In the sequel to the Nebula finalist The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter, Mary Jekyll and the rest of the daughters of mad scientists from literature embark on a madcap adventure across Europe to rescue another monstrous girl and stop the Alchemical Society's nefarious plans once and for all.

Mary Jekyll's life has been peaceful since she helped Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson solve the Whitechapel Murders. Beatrice Rappaccini, Catherine Moreau, Justine Frankenstein, and Mary's sister Diana Hyde have settled into the Jekyll household in London, and although they sometimes quarrel, the members of the Athena Club get along as well as any five young women with very different personalities. At least they can always rely on Mrs. Poole.

But when Mary receives a telegram that Lucinda Van Helsing has been kidnapped, the Athena Club must travel to the Austro-Hungarian Empire to rescue yet another young woman who has been subjected to horrific experimentation. Where is Lucinda, and what has Professor Van Helsing been doing to his daughter? Can Mary, Diana, Beatrice, and Justine reach her in time?

Racing against the clock to save Lucinda from certain doom, the Athena Club embarks on a madcap journey across Europe. From Paris to Vienna to Budapest, Mary and her friends must make new allies, face old enemies, and finally confront the fearsome, secretive Alchemical Society. It's time for these monstrous gentlewomen to overcome the past and create their own destinies.
Review Quote*"Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book."
Review Quote*"Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book."
Review Quote*"Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story.  Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right.

 As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read."
Review Quote** "A tour de force of reclaiming the narrative, executed with impressive wit and insight."
Review Quote*"An enormously accomplished delight of a book...a brilliant novel."
Review Quote*"A pleasure, especially for fans of Victorian detective stories, classic sf and horror literature, and feminist remakes."
Review Quote*"A delightful romp through Victorian gothic literature, with a decidedly feminist slant."
Review Quote*"A swiftly paced, immaculately plotted mystery full of winning characters you always thought you knew, as well as ones you would never have imagined."
Review Quote*"If you're looking for adventure, kick-ass ladies, a good mystery, and a touch of the monstrous, look no further-The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is the brainy, gleefully madcap literary mashup of your dreams."