Worry: A Novel

Category: Book
By (author): Westhead, Jessica
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Psychological
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: September 2019
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 256
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in x 0.64in
Our Price:
$ 22.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

A riveting novel about a mother's all-consuming worry for her child over forty-eight hours at a remote cottage with old friends and a mysterious neighbour, for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and Truly Madly Guilty

Ruth is the fiercely protective mother of almost-four-year-old Fern. Together they visit a remote family cottage belonging to Stef, the woman who has been Ruth's best friend-and Ruth's husband's best friend-for years. Stef is everything Ruth is not-confident, loud, carefree-and someone Ruth cannot seem to escape. While Fern runs wild with Stef's older twins and dockside drinks flow freely among the adults, they're joined by Stef's neighbour Marvin, a man whose frantic pursuit of fun is only matched by his side comments about his absent wife. As day moves into night and darkness settles over the woods, the edges between these friends and a stranger sharpen until a lingering suspicion becomes an undeniable threat.

Review Quote*"Jessica Westhead is one of the finest prose writers in this country."
Review Quote*"I read Worry in one sleepless, unbroken gulp. Jessica Westhead renders parenthood as a riveting high-wire act, and imbues a seemingly ordinary lakeside vacation with suspense and menace that lingers long after reading. . . An irresistible novel from its first pages to its devastating end."