Five Wives: A Novel

Category: Book
By (author): Thomas, Joan
Subject:  FICTION / Contemporary Women
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Literary
  NON-FICTION / General
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: September 2019
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 400
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in x 1.00in
Our Price:
$ 24.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

In the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible and State of Wonder, a novel set in the rainforest of Ecuador about five women left behind when their missionary husbands are killed. Based on the shocking real-life events

In 1956, a small group of evangelical Christian missionaries and their families journeyed to the rainforest in Ecuador intending to convert the Waorani, a people who had never had contact with the outside world. The plan was known as Operation Auca. After spending days dropping gifts from an aircraft, the five men in the party rashly entered the "intangible zone." They were all killed, leaving their wives and children to fend for themselves.

Five Wives is the fictionalized account of the real-life women who were left behind, and their struggles- with grief, with doubt, and with each other- as they continued to pursue their evangelical mission in the face of the explosion of fame that followed their husbands' deaths.

Five Wives is a riveting, often wrenching story of evangelism and its legacy, teeming with atmosphere and compelling characters and rich in emotional impact.

 

Review Quote*"What a wonderful book! Joan Thomas takes us deep into Operation Auca and into the wild jungle of her characters' hearts. This gorgeous, nuanced retelling offers up historical events in a new light and forces us to ask difficult and timely questions about colonialism, indigeneity, and faith."