The Cellar: A Novel

Category: Book
By (author): Walters, Minette
Subject:  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Horror
  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: January 2017
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 256
Size: 7.12in x 5.31in
Our Price:
$ 8.99
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

For fans of Ruth Rendell and P. D. James, The Cellar reveals a terrifying world far from the public eye, and shows what happens when humanity is pushed to its very limit.

When Mr. and Mrs. Songoli's young son goes missing, fourteen-year-old Muna's fortunes change for the better. Knowing no other life than that of a slave, she is used to being abused by the Songoli family-physically, emotionally and even sexually.

To keep up appearances during Scotland Yard's investigation, Muna is given a real bedroom and real clothing, like a real daughter would have. But when the police leave the premises, she must once again call her captors "Princess" and "Master."

Assuming she doesn't know how to read, write or speak English, the Songolis fear little from her. However, before long, it becomes clear that young Muna is far cleverer-and her plans far more terrifying-than the Songolis, or anyone else, could ever imagine. 

Review Quote*"Sly pacing and a detached narrative voice give this horror story exceptional punch."
Review Quote*"This compact, well-told and extraordinarily atmospheric story packs more punch than many much longer books."
Review Quote*"Reads like a particularly grim Grimm's Fairy Tale, with an all-too-credible contemporary setting.... Gratifyingly menacing."
Review Quote*"A compulsive (and gruesome) read."
Review Quote*"Contemporary crime writing at its absolute peak."