The Nest

Category: Book
Illustrated By: Klassen, Jon
By (author): Oppel, Kenneth
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 10-14 Canadian
  JUVENILE FICTION / Horror
Audience: children/juvenile
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: September 2015
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 256
Size: 8.00in x 5.25in x 0.89in
Our Price:
$ 19.99
Availability:
Available: 3-10 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Kenneth Oppel's most haunting story yet . . .

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn't see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

"We've come because of the baby," she said. "We've come to help."

In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, he unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General's Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy's deepest insecurities and darkest fears.

Review Quote*School Library Journal Book of the YearPublishers' Weekly Book of the YearHorn Book Fanfare BookNew York Times' Editors' ChoiceWall Street Journal Book of the YearIndigo Books Book of the Year
Review Quote*"This quiet yet emotionally haunting book thoughtfully explores themes of safety, anxiety, and the beauty of the imperfect . . . [An] affecting middle grade psychological thriller."
Review Quote*"A tight and focused story about the dangers of wishing things back to normal at any cost . . . the emotional resonance is deep, and Steve's precarious interactions with the honey-voiced queen make one's skin crawl."
Review Quote*"With subtle, spine-chilling horror at its heart, this tale of triumph over monsters-both outside and in-is outstanding . . . a match made in kid-lit heaven."
Review Quote*"A masterpiece, and deeply heartening proof that two of our country's best artists are continuing to take risks and grow artistically, even at the height of their careers."