Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Category: Book
By (author): Feldman, Deborah
Subject:  BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / General
  BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Religious
  BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Published: October 2012
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 272
Size: 8.43in x 5.50in x 0.70in
Our Price:
$ 23.00
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path-for herself and her son-to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this "sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story" (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won't be able to put down.
Review Quote*"A brave, riveting account... Unorthodox is harrowing, yet triumphant."
- Jeannette Walls, New York Times bestselling author of The Glass Castle
Review Quote*"A sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story... Imagine Frank McCourt as a Jewish virgin, and you've got Unorthodox in a nutshell."
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Review Quote*"Compulsively readable, Unorthodox relates a unique coming-of-age story that manages to speak personally to anyone who has ever felt like an outsider in her own life."
- School Library Journal
Review Quote*"It's one of those books you can't put down."
- Joan Rivers, in The New York Post
Review Quote*"An unprecedented view into a Hasidic community that few outsiders ever experience."
Minneapolis Star-Tribune
Review Quote*"[Feldman's] matter-of-fact style masks some penetrating insights."
- The New York Times
Review Quote*"Eloquent, appealing, and just emotional enough... No doubt girls all over Brooklyn are buying this book, hiding it under their mattresses, reading it after lights out-and contemplating, perhaps for the first time, their own escape."
- The Huffington Post
Review Quote*"Riveting... extraordinary."
- Marie Claire