What Big Teeth

Category: Book
By (author): Szabo, Rose
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Horror
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Magical Realism
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Square Fish
Published: June 2022
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 432
Size: 8.25in x 5.37in x 1.00in
Our Price:
$ 14.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

A Strand February 2021 Book of the Month

"With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading." -Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together-in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Rose Szabo's thrilling debut is a dark fantasy novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement. Perfect for fans of Wilder Girls, this exquisitely terrifying and beautiful tale will sink its teeth into you and never let go.

Review Quote*

*A Strand February YA Book of the Month

"With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading." - Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

"Deliciously gothic and wonderfully creepy." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW

"Shadowy, gothic, labyrinthine." - Kirkus

"... one part haunting mystery, one part dark fantasy ... This darkly thrilling gothic fantasy will appeal to fans of Karen McManus and Maggie Stiefvater alike." - School Library Journal

"A tale so gorgeously twisty, it'll turn you inside out." - Tor.com

"Gazes into [the] darkness to face the monster that dwells within." - NPR Books

"A complete ghostly chill that deserves ten stars." - The Nerd Daily

"Has bite-and will leave you feeling dazed." - Forever YA

"A hauntingly thrilling read." - The Lineup

"A fascinating debut." - PopSugar

"[An] inventive concept - Den of Geek

"Not your typical YA fantasy." - Culturess

Biographical NoteRose Szabo is a nonbinary writer from Richmond, VA, where they live with an assortment of people and animals. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU. Their work has been published in See the Elephant and Quaint magazines. What Big Teeth is their first novel.