Children of Blood and Bone

Category: Book
By (author): Adeyemi, Tomi
Series: Legacy Of Orisha
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
Audience: young adult
Awards: Kirkus Prize Finalists (2018) Short-listed
Publishers Weekly Best Books of the Year (2018) Long-listed
Publisher: Square Fish
Published: March 2019
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 560
Size: 8.25in x 5.37in
Availability:
Unavailable

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Don't miss the book Entertainment Weekly calls "a phenomenon." Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her #1 New York Times bestselling West African-inspired young adult fantasy debut.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers-and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Praise for Children of Blood and Bone:

"Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel José Older, and Sabaa Tahir." -Booklist, starred review

"This book, with its movie deal already made, will be the next big thing. It is the perfect book follow-up to the movie, Black Panther, too. . . . Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." -VOYA, starred review

From The Publisher*

Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her #1 New York Times bestselling West African-inspired young adult fantasy debut.

Review Quote*

Praise for Children of Blood and Bone:

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year." -Teen Vogue

"The next big thing in literature and film." -Ebony

"A phenomenon." -Entertainment Weekly

"Tomi Adeyemi is about to take both the literature and film world by storm." -Jet

"A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut." -New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

"Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel José Older, and Sabaa Tahir." -Booklist, starred review

"This book, with its movie deal already made, will be the next big thing. It is the perfect book follow-up to the movie, Black Panther, too. . . . Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." -VOYA, starred review

"A refreshing YA fantasy with an all–West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf." -
School Library Journal, starred review

"Book one in the Orïsha Legacy trilogy, Adeyemi's devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Well-drawn characters, an intense plot, and deft writing make this a strong story. That it is also a timely study on race, colorism, power, and injustice makes it great. Powerful, captivating, and raw-Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A remarkable achievement." -Campus Lately

Biographical NoteTomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. She is the author of Children of Blood and Bone.