The Book of Three, 50th Anniversary Edition

Category: Book
By (author): Alexander, Lloyd
Introduction By: Hale, Shannon
Series: Chronicles Of Prydain
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Classics
  JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  JUVENILE FICTION / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
Audience: children/juvenile
Publisher: Square Fish
Published: September 2014
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 240
Size: 8.27in x 5.57in x 0.75in
Our Price:
$ 11.50
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Henry Holt Books for Young Readers is proud to publish this 50th Anniversary Edition of Lloyd Alexander's classic The Book of Three, the first book in the Chronicles of Prydain, with a new introduction by Newbery Honor-winner Shannon Hale. This anniversary edition is filled with bonus materials, including an interview with Lloyd Alexander, a Prydain short story, the first chapter of the next Prydain book ( The Black Cauldron, a Newbery Honor book) an author's note, and a pronunciation guide.   Since The Book of Three was first published in 1964, young readers have been enthralled by the adventures of Taran the Assistant Pig-Keeper and his quest to become a hero.  Taran is joined by an engaging cast of characters that includes Eilonwy, the strong-willed and sharp-tongued princess; Fflewddur Fflam, the hyperbole-prone bard; the ever-faithful Gurgi; and the curmudgeonly Doli-all of whom have become involved in an epic struggle between good and evil that shapes the fate of the legendary land of Prydain.
Review Quote*The Book of Three: "A very funny adventure tale set in an imaginary kingdom… The writing is sophisticated." - BCCB "The author draw his figures with the … touches of irritability, doltishness and contrariness that leavens with high good humor the high fantasy." - Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Biographical NoteLloyd Alexander (1924-2007) is the author of many magical books for young readers. Among them are the Prydain Chronicles, which include the Newbery Medal winner The High King and the Newbery Honor Book The Black Cauldron. Time Cat, originally published in 1963, was his first fantasy for young readers. Mr. Alexander's work has inspired a loyal following of readers of all ages.