Phone Number
Phone Number

The Day of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy, 1943-1944

Category: Book
By (author): Atkinson, Rick
Series: Liberation Trilogy
Subject:  HISTORY / Europe / Italy
  HISTORY / Europe / Western
  HISTORY / Military / World War II
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Published: September 2008
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 848
Size: 8.25in x 5.54in x 1.65in
Our Price:
$ 32.75
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Majestic… Atkinson's achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war." - The Wall Street Journal In An Army at Dawn - winner of the Pulitzer Prize - Rick Atkinson provided an authoritative history of the Allied triumph in North Africa during World War II. Now, in The Day of Battle , he follows the strengthening American and British armies as they invade Sicily in July 1943 and then, mile by bloody mile, fight their way north toward Rome. The decision to invade the so-called soft underbelly of Europe was controversial, but once under way, the commitment to liberate Italy from the Nazis never wavered. The battles at Salerno, Anzio, the Rapido River, and Monte Cassino were particularly lethal, yet as the months passed, the Allied forces continued to drive the Germans up the Italian peninsula. And with the liberation of Rome in June 1944, ultimate victory at last began to seem inevitable. Drawing on a wide array of primary source material, written with great drama and flair, The Day of Battle is a masterly account of one of history's most compelling military campaigns. "
Review Quote*
Praise for The Day of Battle :

 

"The majestic sequel to his Pulitzer Prize-winning An Army at Dawn … Atkinson's achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war." - The Wall Street Journal   "Monumental … With this book, Rick Atkinson cements his place among America's great popular historians, in the tradition of Bruce Catton and Stephen Ambrose."  - The Washington Post
Biographical NoteRick Atkinson, recipient of the 2010 Pritzker Military Library Literature Award for Lifetime Achievement in Military Writing, is the bestselling author of An Army at Dawn, The Long Gray Line , and In the Company of Soldiers . He was a staff writer and senior editor at The Washington Post for twenty years, and his many awards include Pulitzer Prizes for journalism and history. He lives in Washington, D.C. Rick Atkinson is the bestselling author of An Army at Dawn (winner of the Pulitzer Prize for history), The Day of Battle , The Long Gray Line , In the Company of Soldiers , and Crusade . His many other awards include two Pulitzer Prizes for journalism, the George Polk Award, and the Pritzker Military Library Literature Award. A former staff writer and senior editor at The Washington Post , he lives in Washington, D.C.