Earthly Remains: A Commissario Guido Brunetti Mystery

Category: Book
By (author): Leon, Donna
Series: Commissario Guido Brunetti Mystery
Subject:  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: Grove/Atlantic
Published: March 2018
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 288
Size: 7.25in x 5.00in x 0.75in
Our Price:
$ 23.95
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*At the start ofEarthly Remains, Commissario Guido Brunetti, confronted once more by someone of privilege avoiding censure, loses patience at work, and in the aftermath realizes that he needs a break and is granted leave from the Questura. His wife, Paola, urges him to spend time at a villa owned by a wealthy relative on Sant'Erasmo, one of the largest islands in thelaguna. There he passes his nights reading Pliny'sNatural History and his days rowing with the villa's caretaker, Davide Casati, who is seeking the reason his bee colonies in thelaguna are suffering. The recuperative stay goes according to plan until Casati goes missing following a sudden storm. Compelled to investigate, Brunetti sets aside his leave of absence to understand what happened to the man who has become his friend, in the process dredging up dark memories of an accident and cover-up years before.Earthly Remains is quintessential Donna Leon, a powerful addition to this enduring series.
Review Quote*Praise forEarthly Remains:

ANew York Times Bestseller
ANew York Times Top Ten Crime Novel of 2017
ANew York Times Book Review Editors' Choice
National Post Best Books of the Year
An Amazon Best Book of the Month (Mystery)
"When she's writing about her beloved Venice, Donna Leon can do no wrong. AndEarthly Remains, her new mystery featuring Commissario Guido Brunetti, is one of her best . . . [A] socially aware and intensely felt series . . . Leon . . . once again earn[s] the gratitude of her devoted readers."-Marilyn Stasio,New York Times Book Review

"Donna Leon's novels about Venetian detective Guido Brunetti never disappoint, andEarthly Remains is no exception . . . [A] gentle, elegiac tale."-Adam Woog,Seattle Times (April's Best Crime Fiction)

"As deftly as Leon weaves mysterious past and shocking present, this leisurely paced book's greatest rewards, as is usually the case with her work, are reflective . . . [Brunetti] is, through thick and thin, great company-and a pretty good crime solver as well."-Lloyd Sachs,Chicago Tribune

"You become so wrapped up in these compelling characters, that I think you could go through all 25 [Commissario Guido Brunetti mysteries] this summer . . . Each one is better than the last."-Louise Erdrich,PBS Newshour

"Like the foregoing Guido Brunetti novels,Earthly Remains is a rewarding novel. The descriptions of the Venice laguna and its islands are enticing, the character of Guido is drawn with finer detail, and the tale it tells is of the most serious import."-Washington Times

"Donna Leon introduced Commissario Guido Brunetti in 1992'sDeath at La Fenice, and readers around the globe have been grateful ever since . . . [In]Earthly Remains . . . Leon masterfully weaves several plot threads and takes the reader through the labyrinth of Venetian life that has nothing do with sipping a cappuccino on the Piazza San Marco."-Bay Area Reporter

"Reading Leon is like sitting down with old friends for the most satisfying of dinners, replete of course with well-chosen wines . . . Leon is a wonderful writer, the sentences as beautifully crafted as thepuparin Casati's father had long ago built. You feel the sodden heat of a Venetian summer, the crowds marching like ants across the Rialto Bridge, the sting of Guido's sunburn and his rage at the corruption that ruins life for everybody. The Italians don't know what they're missing."-Arts Desk

"Leon knows her world intimately, yet never overloads the reader with research. She shows only the tip of her iceberg, confident in the richness that lurks underneath. The cast is small but memorable. The square miles she covers are few but exploding with life-at least where humans have yet to quash it."-Howard Shrier,National Post

"Leon's multifaceted portrait of a man overburdened with human tragedy emerges forcefully here, as the lagoon itself, beautiful on the surface but containing the seeds of its own destruction, stands as a gripping metaphor for the bad choices and intractable dilemmas that infect us all . . . Leon['s] . . . novels, with their unparalleled evocation of landscape and sensitivity to character, have attracted an audience that encompasses fiction readers of all kinds."-Booklist (starred review)

"A vacation for your own soul."-Kirkus Reviews

"Showcasing the stark contrast between Venice's organic beauty and the decay that centuries of neglect and overindulgence have laid upon it,Earthly Remains delicately captures the tension that modern Italians face . . . Mystery readers who enjoy a little philosophical introspection are sure to love this latest entry in a delightful series perfect for fans of Henning Mankell or Louise Penny."-Shelf Awareness
"Bestseller Leon's enticing 26th Commissario Guido Brunetti mystery . . . Along the way to the poignant ending, Brunetti develops insights into nature and humankind's failure to protect it, as well as the nature of guilt and its role in a man's life."-Publishers Weekly

"The 26th entry in Leon's outstanding ‘Commissario Guido Brunetti' series is one of her best . . . Fans of Leon's early novels will find much to enjoy in the depictions of Venice and of the loving relationship between Brunetti and his family."-Library Journal

"Step into the gondola and glide along the romantic Venetian canals . . . Another extraordinary adventure with Commissario Brunetti."-AudioFile

"Earthly Remains, the 26th installment of this quietly beloved series, is the best of a wonderful lot . . . Leon's character development and scene-setting are so strong and interesting that the story just moves right along without a bump or hitch . . . There are few reading joys that equal cracking the binding of a new Leon novel and experiencing another meeting with Brunetti . . . If you have not experienced this world, so exotic and yet so familiar, you can pick up literally any volume in the series andbegin a comfortable entry into Brunetti's Venice.Earthly Remains, however, would be a superlative place to start."-BookReporter.com

"[Leon] delivers a twist on the mystery formula. Another great read, filled with the atmospheric delights of the region."-Brenda Repland,Eyes on World Cultures
Biographical NoteDonna Leon is the author of the highly acclaimed, internationally bestselling Commissario Guido Brunetti mystery series. The winner of the CWA Macallan Silver Dagger for Fiction, among other awards, Donna Leon lived in Venice for many years and now divides her time between Venice and Switzerland.