The Nightmare

Category: Book
By (author): Kepler, Lars
Subject:  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  FICTION / Thrillers / General
  FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Published: January 2013
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 512
Size: 8.99in x 6.02in x 1.33in
List Price:
$ 19.95
Our Price:
$ 17.99
(10% Off)
Availability:
Available: 3-10 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*The bestselling follow up to the debut thriller The Hypnotist, again starring DI Joona Linna, became a bestseller around the world and successfully established itself in Canada. For readers of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 

On  a summer night, police recover the body of a young woman from an abandoned pleasure boat drifting around the Stockholm archipelago. Her lungs are filled with brackish water, and the forensics team is sure that she drowned. Why, then, is the pleasure boat still afloat, and why are there no traces of water on her clothes or body? The next day, a man turns up dead in his state apartment in Stockholm, hanging from a lamphook in the ceiling. All signs point to suicide, but the room has a high ceiling, and there's not a single piece of furniture around -- nothing to climb on. Joona Linna begins to piece together the two mysteries, but the logistics are a mere prelude to a dizzying and dangerous course of events. At its core, the most frightening aspect of The Nightmare isn't its gruesome crimes -- it's the dark psychology of its characters, who show us how blind we are to our own motives.
Review Quote*"A high-octane, taut thriller... what sets The Nightmare apart from its rivals is the way it has been translated: a pacy, present-tense unravelling of the action that ramps up the sense of peril."
-Marie Claire

"Fans of slow-burning Scandinavian crime fiction with troubled heroes will feel right at home with Kepler...."
-Publishers Weekly

"A fast-paced book that is impossible to put down.... A thrilling plotline...unique, creative, and entertaining..."
-Deseret News
Biographical NoteLARS KEPLER is the pseudonym of Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril & Alexander Ahndoril, both critically-acclaimed writers under their own names. Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril's first novel Stjärneborg (Castle of Stars) has been translated in several languages while Alexander Ahndoril's novel The Director, about Ingmar Bergman, was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize. The Nightmare is the second book in a series featuring Detective Inspector Joona Linna.