A Good Man

Category: Book
By (author): Vanderhaeghe, Guy
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / Historical
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Published: May 2012
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 480
Size: 8.24in x 5.59in x 1.20in
Our Price:
$ 22.00
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Multi-award-winning author Guy Vanderhaeghe's eagerly awaited new novel is a dazzling follow up to his bestselling The Englishman's Boy and The Last Crossing (a Canada Reads winner!).

A Good Man culminates what could be thought of as a trilogy of books set in the late nineteenth-century Canadian and American West, and it is a masterpiece. Vanderhaeghe skilfully weaves a rich tapestry of history with the turns of fortune of his most vividly and compellingly drawn cast of characters yet. Vanderhaeghe entwines breathtaking, intriguing, and richly described narratives that contain a compelling love story, a tale of revenge and violence, a spectacular battle scene, the story of an incident in Welsely's past that threatens his relationship with Ada, and much, much more. While raising moral questions, this novel weaves the historical with the personal and stands as Vanderhaeghe's most accomplished and brilliant novel to date.
Review Quote*A Globe and Mail Best Book

"Vanderhaeghe's frontier trilogy. . . is a rumination on the birth of the nation itself."
-Toronto Star
"Impeccably crafted . . . deeply satisfying . . . more entertaining than political historical novels about nationhood have any business being. . . . [A] towering achievement worthy of celebration."
-Globe and Mail
"With A Good Man, Vanderhaeghe's eye for implication has never been more clearly focused. . . . It is sure to become, deservedly so, a classic."
-Toronto Star
"A love story, a thriller, a Conradian meditation on courage and manhood. . . . An epic that matches its grand ambitions."
-Winnipeg Free Press
Biographical NoteGUY VANDERHAEGHE was born in Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, in 1951. His previous fiction includes The Last Crossing, The Englishman's Boy, Things as they Are (stories), Homesick, My Present Age, The Trouble With Heroes, Man Descending (stories). Among the many awards he has received are the Governor General's Awards (twice), The Pierre Elliot Trudeau Prize, the Writers' Trust Timothy Findley Award, and the Harbourfront Literary Prize, all for a body of work. He has received many honours including the Order of Canada.