Abattoir Blues

Category: Book
By (author): Robinson, Peter
Series: Inspector Banks
Subject:  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Published: June 2015
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 384
Size: 8.97in x 6.00in x 0.98in
Our Price:
$ 19.95
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*"Brilliantly plotted, beautifully paced, it gathers speed and dread until I could barely stand it. Peter Robinson writes with compassion, with depth, with the assurance of a writer at the top of his game and rewards us with a truly heart-pounding finale."--Louise Penny

     Now in trade paperback and for fans of Peter Robinson's 22nd book in the much-loved, bestselling (over ten million copies worldwide and counting!) Inspector Banks series--perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Michael Connelly.
     The story begins with a series of criminal incidents: a stolen tractor; an apparent crime scene in an old hangar at an abandoned World War II airfield; and, if it weren't enough, two local young men are reported missing. One of them lives in a caravan, which is burned to the ground one night, and the other's girlfriend receives an unwelcome visit from someone impersonating a police officer. Just as Banks and his team are getting a grip on all these cases, a car accident in a freak hailstorm turns up a gruesome discovery that spins the investigation into high gear. In classic Peter Robinson edge-of-your-seat style, a race against time ensues, and it seems that not even the investigators themselves are safe.
Review Quote*   • "It's neither the setting nor even the characters that makes Robinson's work so satisfying, but the plotting of Swiss-watch precision."--The Independent 

   • "Classic Robinson: labyrinthine plot merged with deft characterisation."--Observer
Biographical Note

PETER ROBINSON grew up in the United Kingdom, and now divides his time between Toronto and Richmond, Yorkshire. Abattoir Blues is the twenty-second book in the DCI Banks series. He has also written two collections of short stories, and three standalone novels, the most recent of which is the bestseller Before the Poison, winner of the Arthur Ellis Award in Canada, Sweden's Golden Crowbar Award, and the 2013 Dilys Award given by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association. Robinson's critically acclaimed crime novels have won numerous awards in Britain, the United States, Canada, and Europe, and are published in translation all over the world. Several Inspector Banks novels have been adapted for television by ITV and have appeared on PBS. Visit www.inspectorbanks.com.