When the Music's Over

Category: Book
By (author): Robinson, Peter
Subject:  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Published: June 2017
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 410
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in
Our Price:
$ 21.00
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*By one of the world's top writers of crime fiction, When the Music's Over -- which takes on the sexual abuse of an adolescent girl by a celebrity in the entertainment world -- is one of Robinson's strongest to date.

When the body of a young girl is found in a remote countryside lane, evidence suggests she was drugged, abused, and thrown from a moving van -- before being beaten to death.
     While DI Annie Cabbot investigates the circumstances in which a 14-year-old could possibly fall victim to such a crime, newly promoted DSI Alan Banks must do the same -- but the crime Banks is investigating is the coldest of cases. Fifty years ago Linda Palmer was attacked by celebrity entertainer Danny Caxton, yet no investigation ever took place. Now Caxton stands accused, at the centre of a historical abuse investigation, and it's Banks's first task as superintendent to find the truth.
     As more women step forward with accounts of Caxton's manipulation, Banks must piece together decades-old evidence. With his investigation uncovering things from the past that would rather stay hidden, he will be led down a path even darker than the one he set out to investigate . . .
Review Quote*Praise for Peter Robinson and the Inspector Banks series:
 • "Taut, clean writing and subtle psychology . . . " -- Ian Rankin
 • "One of the grand masters of the genre." -- Literary Review
 • ". . . Among the best detective fiction in the world.". -- Edmonton Journal
 • "Robinson is not just a master storyteller, he's a literary magician." -- Montreal Gazette
Biographical NotePETER ROBINSON grew up in the United Kingdom, and now divides his time between Toronto and Richmond, Yorkshire. When the Music's Over is the 23rd book in the DCI Banks series. He has also written two collections of short stories, and three standalone novels, the most recent of which is the bestseller Before the Poison, winner of the Arthur Ellis Award in Canada, Sweden's Golden Crowbar Award, and the 2013 Dilys Award given by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association. Robinson's critically acclaimed crime novels have won numerous awards in Britain, the United States, Canada, and Europe, and are published in translation all over the world. Several Inspector Banks novels have been adapted for television by ITV and have appeared on PBS, with more to come. Visit www.inspectorbanks.com. The author lives in Toronto and Richmond, UK.