Lampedusa: A Novel

Category: Book
By (author): Price, Steven
Subject:  FICTION / Biographical
  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / Historical
  FICTION / Literary
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Published: August 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 336
Size: 8.25in x 5.62in
Our Price:
$ 32.00
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*From the #1 nationally bestselling author of By Gaslight, a novel of exquisite emotional force about love and art in the life of one of the great writers, reminiscent of Colm Tóibín's The Master, or Michael Cunningham's The Hours.

In sun-drenched Sicily, among the decadent Italian aristocracy of the late 1950s, Giuseppe Tomasi, the last prince of Lampedusa, struggles to complete the novel that will be his lasting legacy, The Leopard. With a firm devotion to the historical record, Lampedusa leaps effortlessly into the mind of the writer and inhabits the complicated heart of a man facing down the end of his life, struggling to make something of lasting worth, while there is still time.

Achingly beautiful and elegantly conceived, Steven Price's new novel is an intensely moving story of one man's awakening to the possibilities of life, intimately woven against the transformative power of a great work of art.
Review Quote*Praise for Steven Price and By Gaslight

"Price has a gift for the telling detail. . . . Splendid." -Globe and Mail

"Thought-provoking and often surprising. . . . The novel's climax, the big reveal, is a hard-won discovery, rooted not in detection but in the characters themselves, skillfully drawn and pushed to their limits." -National Post

"Spinning fiction out of fact, Price creates an evocative world, cast not in shades of stark black and white, but rather in morally complex herringbone. Violence forever stalks the margins of the story, and we are privy to situations that are both raw and beautiful, though always expressing the complexities of the human heart." -NPR
Biographical NoteSTEVEN PRICE is the author of two novels, By Gaslight (2016), longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and Into That Darkness (2011). Also an acclaimed poet, he has written two award-winning poetry books, Anatomy of Keys (2006), winner of the Gerald Lampert Award, and Omens in the Year of the Ox (2012), winner of the ReLit Award. He lives in Victoria, B.C.