Moon of the Turning Leaves

Category: Book
By (author): Rice, Waubgeshig
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / Dystopian
  FICTION / Indigenous
  FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
Publisher: Random House of Canada
Published: October 2023
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 312
Size: 8.23in x 5.51in x 0.86in
Our Price:
$ 24.95
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Twelve years after the lights go out . . .
An epic journey to a forgotten homeland

The hotly anticipated sequel to the bestselling novel Moon of the Crusted Snow


It's been over a decade since a mysterious cataclysm caused a permanent blackout that toppled infrastructure and thrust the world into anarchy. Evan Whitesky led his community in remote northern Ontario off the rez and into the bush, where they've been living off the land, rekindling their Anishinaabe traditions in total isolation from the outside world. As new generations are born, and others come of age in the world after everything, Evan's people are in some ways stronger than ever. But resources in and around their new settlement are beginning to dry up, and the elders warn that they cannot afford to stay indefinitely.
    Evan and his fifteen-year-old daughter, Nangohns, are elected to lead a small scouting party on a months-long trip to their traditional home on the north shore of Lake Huron-to seek new beginnings, and discover what kind of life-and what dangers-still exist in the lands to the south.
    Moon of the Turning Leaves is Waubgeshig Rice's exhilarating return to the world first explored in the phenomenal breakout bestseller Moon of the Crusted Snow: a brooding story of survival, resilience, Indigenous identity, and rebirth.

Review Quote*

Advance Praise for Moon of the Turning Leaves

"An epic journey into the future, powerfully haunting." -Silvia Moreno-Garcia, bestselling author of Mexican Gothic

"Tense, atmospheric, and ultimately hopeful, Rice masterfully delivers an unsettling, page-turning sequel." -Eden Robinson, author of Son of a Trickster

"It felt like an eternity waiting for Waubgeshig to write the sequel to Moon of the Crusted Snow and it was worth it. As we as a species ponder our own survival, this talented author walks his courageous characters through an odyssey towards hope. At times heart-racing and at times heart wrenching, Moon of the Turning Leaves allows us all to turn the page and find out what's next in an uncertain future." -Catherine Hernandez, award-winning author and screenwriter of Scarborough the novel and film

"If you've ever wondered how the Anishinaabe way would fare after the Great Collapse, this is the novel for you. Fans of McCarthy's The Road and Kirkman's The Walking Dead will feel right at home here with the intrigue, the dread and the hope. What a magnificent read. Mahsi cho, Waubgeshig Rice. Bravo!" -Richard Van Camp, author of The Lesser Blessed and Loyal to Heaven

"[Moon of the Turning Leaves] is by turns beautiful and inspiring and bleak and violent. In other words, the perfect dystopian read. Let's hope Waubgeshig Rice doesn't make us wait too long for the next visit to this captivating world." -Alma Katsu, author of The Fervor and The Hunger

"Novels, when brilliantly written, are passports to another place, another world. Moon of the Turning Leaves takes us to a First Nations community beset by an unbelievable fate that's managed to survive when much of the world hasn't. Rice has given us a meaningful journey, and people to cheer for. I was in this story." -Drew Hayden Taylor, author of Motorcycles and Sweetgrass and Cold

"Waubgeshig Rice's stories are good medicine. Moon of the Turning Leaves is a restorative balm for my spirit." -Angeline Boulley, New York Times bestselling author of Firekeeper's Daughter and Warrior Girl Unearthed

"Rice quite brilliantly weaves this sequel to Moon of the Crusted snow such that the ongoing journey of those wonderfully drawn characters carries on seamlessly. Moon of the Turning Leaves stands on its own while simultaneously carrying the heart of the original story. Suspenseful and gripping, the great anticipation for this next installment is borne out by this artful storytelling." -Michelle Good, award-winning author of Five Little Indians and Truth Telling

"Less a sequel than another important volume in the annals of genuine rural storytelling, Moon of the Turning Leaves carries readers on a harrowing and vital journey through a northern landscape that is remaking itself. . . . This is a novel that hums with strength and hope in the face of violence and brutality, and hinges on a simple act of love. These characters will not settle for merely surviving, and they brave the darkest miles for their community to find a home long stolen and waiting for their return." -Kevin Hardcastle, author of In the Cage

Biographical Note

Waubgeshig Rice is an author and journalist originally from Wasauksing First Nation. His first short story collection, Midnight Sweatlodge won an Independent Publishers Book Award in 2012. His latest novel, Moon of the Crusted Snow, was released in October 2018 and became a National Bestseller. Reporting for CBC News for the bulk of his career, in 2014 he received the Anishinabek Nation's Debwewin Citation for excellence in First Nation Storytelling and from 2018 to 2020 he hosted Up North, CBC Radio's afternoon show for northern Ontario.