Her Turn

Category: Book
By (author): Ashenburg, Katherine
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / Contemporary Women
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Literary
Publisher: Knopf Canada
Published: August 2021
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 232
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in x 0.59in
Our Price:
$ 22.95
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*For fans of Nora Ephron and Jennifer Weiner, here is Katherine Ashenburg's witty, contemporary new novel about a forty-something newspaper columnist navigating her bold next chapter, set in Washington against the 2015 US presidential primary.

Liz is an editor at a national newspaper in Washington, D.C. in 2015, where Hillary Clinton's run for the presidency is the talk of the town. Divorced and the mother of a college-age son, Liz has a full life: fantastic friends, a job she adores, and a breezy non-committal dating life. On the surface, Liz is thriving, but deep inside she is stalled in neutral, stuck in a clandestine affair with her married boss and still brooding on her marriage, which ended in betrayal, hurt and anger 12 years ago.

Liz's job is to edit a column called "My Turn," choosing personal essays sent in from readers around the country. One day, her tidy life is upended when a submission about a marital squabble arrives from Seattle, from Nicole, the very woman who had an affair with Liz's ex-husband and is now married to him. Wife Two has no idea that she is sending an essay to Wife One, and Liz manages to keep her identity a secret while she engages in a long, ever more brutal "edit" of the piece. Still, the existence of the essay destabilizes Liz, and she starts acting erratically--abruptly ending her affair with the boss, publishing provocative essays that infuriate her colleagues and readers, investing in a growing pile of unread self-help books about "forgiveness," and indulging in some questionable romantic decisions.

When the tangled web of Liz's deception with Nicole is suddenly exposed, Liz must face the harm she's causing others--and herself. She attempts to make amends, with shocking, farcical, and entirely unexpected results. A witty, smart, wise, and sparkling novel with moving depths (and musings on the pursuit of forgiveness) beneath its delightful surface.
Review Quote*"What a gem this novel is. Hilarious, wise, and humane, Her Turn follows one woman's twisting path through a maze of love and betrayal and forgiveness. It is infused with the joyful spirit of Nora Ephron and lit with a charm all its own."-Elizabeth Renzetti
Biographical NoteKATHERINE ASHENBURG is the author of several books and many magazine and newspaper articles. She has written for The New York Times, The Globe and Mail and Toronto Life, among other publications. Her books include The Mourner's Dance: What We Do When People Die, and The Dirt on Clean: An Unsanitized History, which was published in twelve countries and six languages. In former incarnations, she was a producer at CBC Radio and was The Globe and Mail's Arts and Books editor. In 2012, she won a Gold Medal at the National Magazine Awards for her article on old age. In 2018, she publisher her debut novel, Sofie and Cecilia.