The Everlasting Road

Category: Book
By (author): Kinew, Wab
Series: The Floraverse
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / Aboriginal & Indigenous
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Science Fiction / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Tundra Book Group
Published: January 2023
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 272
Size: 8.50in x 5.88in x 0.92in
Our Price:
$ 23.99
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*The boundaries between the virtual and the real world become dangerously blurred for a young Indigenous girl in the follow-up to the YA fantasy debut Walking in Two Worlds from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

 Devastated by the loss of her beloved older brother to cancer, Bugz returns to the place where she can always find solace and strength: the Floraverse. Over the past year, she has gained back all that she had lost in that virtual world, and while the remaining ClanLess members still plot against her, she is easily able to overcome their attacks. Even better, she's been secretly working on a bot that will be both an incredible weapon and a source of comfort: Waawaate.
 
With the Waawaate bot looking exactly like the brother she misses so much - even acting so much like him - Bugz feels ready to show him off to Feng, who has become a constant companion in the Verse, and she cannot wait to team up with both friend and bot to secure her dominance once and for all. But Feng has his own issues to deal with, especially when news that his parents are alive and want to contact him threatens to send his new life on the Rez into upheaval.
 
As they work through their complicated feelings of grief and loss, Feng and Bugz find themselves becoming ever closer. But disturbances in the Floraverse cannot be ignored, especially when Bugz realizes that her Waawaate bot is growing in powers beyond her control . . . 
Review Quote*A Kirkus Reviews Editors' Pick

"Kinew presents readers with another well-paced novel set in a vividly realized world in which young people create new paths that are grounded in community and cultural continuity." -Kirkus Reviews
Biographical NoteWAB KINEW is the bestselling, award-winning author of Go Show the World and The Reason You Walk. An Honourary Witness for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada and a follower of the Anishinaabe way of life, he is a former journalist, hip-hop artist and television host who was named by Postmedia News as one of "9 Aboriginal movers and shakers you should know." Kinew, who is a provincial politician in Manitoba, lives in Winnipeg with his family.