The Mystery Guest: A Maid Novel

Category: Book
By (author): Prose, Nita
Series: Molly The Maid
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / Family Life / General
  FICTION / Thrillers / Domestic
  FICTION / Women
Publisher: Penguin Canada
Published: November 2023
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 304
Size: 9.25in x 6.25in x 0.75in
Our Price:
$ 24.95
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

"Prepare to be swept away again into the wonderfully endearing and unforgettable world of Molly. . . . Nita Prose writes like no other-I loved this even more than her utterly delightful debut." -Ashley Audrain, bestselling author of The Push and The Whispers

A new mess. A new mystery. It's up to Molly the maid to uncover the truth, no matter how dirty, in this standalone novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Maid, a Good Morning America Book Club pick.


Molly Gray is not like anyone else. With her flair for cleaning and proper etiquette, she has risen through the ranks of the glorious five-star Regency Grand Hotel to become the esteemed Head Maid. But just as her life reaches a pinnacle state of perfection, her world is turned upside down when J.D. Grimthorpe, the world-renowned mystery author, drops dead-very dead-on the hotel's tea room floor.

When Detective Stark, Molly's old foe, investigates the author's unexpected demise, it becomes clear that this death was murder most foul. Suspects abound, and everyone wants to know: Who killed J.D. Grimthorpe? Was it Lily, the new Maid-in-Training? Or was it Serena, the author's secretary? Could Mr. Preston, the hotel's beloved doorman, be hiding something? And is Molly really as innocent as she seems?

As the case threatens the hotel's pristine reputation, Molly knows that she alone holds the key to unlocking the killer's identity. But that key is buried deep in her past-because long ago, she knew J.D. Grimthorpe. Molly must comb her memory for clues, and revisit her childhood and the mysterious Grimthorpe mansion where her dearly departed Gran once worked. With Molly and her colleagues under investigation, she knows she must solve the mystery post-haste. And if there's one thing she knows for sure, it's that dirty secrets don't stay buried forever...

Review Quote*

The Walrus Best Book of Fall 2023

Praise for
The Mystery Guest:

"Prepare to be swept away again into the wonderfully endearing and unforgettable world of Molly. This time, we're treated to a look back at the early days of young Molly and Gran, a tender ode to the devotion between a grandparent and grandchild-while ‘detective' Molly attempts to solve the latest murder at the Regency Grand Hotel. Nita Prose writes like no other-I loved this even more than her utterly delightful debut."
-Ashley Audrain, bestselling author of The Push and The Whispers

"Wise and winning and altogether wondrous: a mystery, yes-a nimble, crafty one, too, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Knives Out, and tasteful whodunits of any vintage-but, oh, so much more! The Mystery Guest is a bright comedy of (mostly good) manners; it's a full-hearted, clear-eyed ode to innocence; it's a celebration of goodness and truth; it's a mug of hot chocolate, rich and dark and bittersweet. And what a world Nita Prose has built here at the Regency Grand, with its revolving doors, its Art Deco tearoom, its plush suites and cozy housekeeping quarters-the most inviting high-society funhouse since Wes Anderson's Grand Budapest Hotel. Above all, though, The Mystery Guest, like The Maid before it (you can enjoy one without reading the other!), is a novel to restore your faith in proudly old-fashioned, character-driven storytelling-of the kind that crime buffs and book clubs alike can embrace. I was nearly hugging myself as I turned the pages of this splendid novel. Read it, as I did, with ‘an attitude of gratitude.'" 
-A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

"There have been two murders at the Regency Grand Hotel, and one maid has been a suspect in both. But I still want to book a room there, and I still want Molly in charge of cleaning it-that's how beautifully Nita Prose has updated and perfected the cozy murder. The Mystery Guest meticulously balances past and present to create a story you'll never want to stop reading, full of twists you'll never see coming. Molly Gray is a gift to the world, with a perspective so clear-eyed and refreshing, you'll hear her voice as a comfort if ever something in your own life looks bleak. This is a book to hug when you finish, it all comes together so sublimely. Solving a crime has never been more delightful."
-Nina de Gramont, New York Times bestselling author of The Christie Affair

"Nita Prose shines with the return of Molly the maid who is one of the most memorable, endearing characters I've ever read. From page turning suspense, to laugh-out-loud humour and moments that are deeply heartfelt, The Mystery Guest has it all! This book is a knockout." 
-Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Local Woman Missing

"Nita Prose and her protagonist share an eye for detail, but it's not just that which makes The Mystery Guest such a satisfying and enjoyable read. It is also the masterly characterisation, the deft plotting, the whipsmart dialogue and the clever structure. A flawless and brilliant read."
-Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Strange Sally Diamond

"The Mystery Guest is a page-turning delight from start to finish. Once I checked into the Regency Grand I never wanted to leave."
-Jenny Jackson, New York Times bestselling author ofPineapple Street

"Nita Prose is back with another winning page turner featuring hotel maid Molly Gray, the most charming amateur sleuth in modern literature. This time, when a hotel guest turns up dead-very dead-Molly must dig into her own memory for clues not only to solve the murder, but also to put together the pieces of her own past. Prepare to fall in love with this utterly charming, fast-paced, clever whodunit full of laughs and overflowing with heart. I loved every second spent in Molly's world and can't wait to see where Prose takes us next." 
-Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author

"A rollicking, riotous, rollercoaster of a mystery. Clever clues, a smorgasboard of suspects, and a rocket-fuel pace mean Molly the Maid deserves her place not only as Head Maid of The Regency Grand, but in the pantheon of great literary detectives."
-Benjamin Stevenson, internationally bestselling author of Everyone in my Family Has Killed Someone
 
"Oh, how I enjoy Molly's take on life! Another gorgeous book from Nita prose, cleverly conceived, written with panache and jam-packed with Joy. I loved every page."
-Hazel Prior, bestselling author of How the Penguins Saved Veronica

"Molly the maid is back and she's as smart and funny as ever! The Mystery Guest is a strong and stylish whodunnit that captivates from page one-a pitch-perfect plot delivered with Nita Prose's brand of joyful storytelling. A tale that captures your heart while it baffles your mind. . . . Be sure to put out the ‘do not disturb' sign while you lose yourself in this exquisite follow-up."
-Janice Hallett, internationally bestselling author of The Mysterious Case of the Alperton Angels

"Polished to perfection!"
-Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of Everyone Here Is Lying

"Among the most anticipated thrillers this fall, The Mystery Guest delivers resoundingly on its promise."
-The Walrus

Biographical Note

NITA PROSE is the author of The Maid, which has sold over 1 million copies worldwide and was published in over forty countries. A #1 New York Times bestseller and a Good Morning America Book Club Pick, The Maid won the Ned Kelly Award for International Crime Fiction and a Goodreads Choice Award. Visit Nita at nitaprose.comor on Twitter and IG: @NitaProse.