Chlorine Sky

Category: Book
By (author): Browne, Mahogany L.
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Poetry
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Published: January 2021
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 192
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 23.99
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My eyes don't dance like my heartbeat racing
They stare straight back hot daggers.
I remember things will never be the same.
I remember things.

With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.
Biographical NoteMahogany L. Browne is a California-born, Brooklyn-based writer, educator, activist, mentor, and curator. She has published several books of poetry, and she is an Urban Word NYC Artistic Director (as seen on HBO's Brave New Voices), founder of Women Writers of Color Reading Room, and Director of BLM@Pratt Programming, and facilitates performance poetry and writing workshops throughout the country.Mahogany's poetry picture books include Black Girl Magic and Woke Baby.