The Witch's Heart

Category: Book
By (author): Gornichec, Genevieve
Subject:  FICTION / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
  FICTION / Fantasy / Historical
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Magical Realism
Publisher: Ace
Published: February 2021
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 368
Size: 9.28in x 6.18in x 1.23in
Our Price:
$ 35.00
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.
 
Angrboda's story begins where most witches' tales end: with a burning. A punishment from Odin for refusing to provide him with knowledge of the future, the fire leaves Angrboda injured and powerless, and she flees into the farthest reaches of a remote forest. There she is found by a man who reveals himself to be Loki, and her initial distrust of him transforms into a deep and abiding love.
 
Their union produces three unusual children, each with a secret destiny, who Angrboda is keen to raise at the edge of the world, safely hidden from Odin's all-seeing eye. But as Angrboda slowly recovers her prophetic powers, she learns that her blissful life-and possibly all of existence-is in danger.
 
With help from the fierce huntress Skadi, with whom she shares a growing bond, Angrboda must choose whether she'll accept the fate that she's foreseen for her beloved family...or rise to remake their future. From the most ancient of tales this novel forges a story of love, loss, and hope for the modern age.
 
Review Quote*"A deep journey into the mists of the ancient Norse world of gods, monsters and humans, who shape shift from one to another.  But the heart of the story is a witch's passage over many lifetimes and the ultimate sacrifice she makes for those she loves. A timeless tale of great power and artistry."--Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of The Splendor Before the Dark

"With prose as heady as any epic, Gornichec breathes incredible new life into an ancient saga, filling in the gaps with humor and passion and heart. A masterpiece."--Emily A. Duncan, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints and Ruthless Gods

"Rich and artfully woven, The Witch's Heart takes the familiar tales of Norse Mythology and tells them from a fresh, honest perspective… Angrboda is an unforgettable heroine, and The Witch's Heart a debut to be reckoned with."--Hannah Long, author of Hall of Smoke

"The Witch's Heart is a unique novel that transforms the faceless names of an epic tale into living, breathing, sympathetic characters. With a witty and spirited protagonist, this book will surprise and delight from beginning to end."-Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches and The Age of Witches 

"As epic as it is engrossing, The Witch's Heart is a testament to the ferocity of one mother's love and the lengths she'll go to protect those she loves. Utterly unforgettable." -Alexis Henderson, author of The Year of the Witching 

"This fascinating novel approaches Norse mythology from a brand new perspective; here old villains are now heroes, and the motivations of gods, giants, and witches are rarely what they seem... Gornichec plumbs the depths of what we will endure for family, belonging, and meaning, and traces the limits of love, friendship, and vengeance."--Linnea Hartsuyker, author of The Half-Drowned King

"A retelling of the Norse legend from the viewpoint of a woman often left in the margins, this book deserves to be a classic. For readers of Madeline Miller's Circe and the Marvel version of Loki."- Library Journal (starred review)
 
"A feminist reimagining of the Norse myths surrounding Ragnarök…melding together the wide range of Nordic legends, this is a story of tenderness and betrayal, friendship and loyalty, family and monsters, beginnings and endings. Offer this beautiful reimagining to fans of Neil Gaiman's Norse Mythology (2017) and Joanne M. Harris' Loki novels."–Booklist (starred review)
Biographical NoteGenevieve Gornichec earned her degree in history from The Ohio State University, but she got as close to majoring in Vikings as she possibly could, and her study of the Norse myths and Icelandic sagas became her writing inspiration. She lives in Cleveland, Ohio. The Witch's Heart is her debut novel.