Anna and the Swallow Man

Category: Book
By (author): Savit, Gavriel
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 10-14
  JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes
  JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / Holocaust
  JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Europe
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Published: January 2016
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 240
Size: 8.56in x 5.69in x 0.88in
Availability:
Unavailable

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief.
 
Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna's father-she knows that very well-but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. 
 
Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.
Review Quote*"Savit's economical prose beautifully captures a child's loss of innocence and the spiritual challenges that emerge when a safe world suddenly becomes threatening." -Publishers Weekly, Starred Review


"The third-person narrative-lyrical, fluid, with a pervasive shadow of menace-lends a folkloric feel to a graceful story steeped in history, magic, myth, and archetype; comparisons to The Book Thief are apt." -The Horn Book, Starred Review

"Artful, original, insightful." -Kirkus Reviews


"A moving, thought-provoking story about coming-of-age in the midst of trauma." -Booklist 
Biographical NoteGavriel Savit holds a BFA in musical theater from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, where he grew up. As an actor and singer, Gavriel has performed on three continents, from New York to Brussels to Tokyo. He lives in Brooklyn. This is his first novel.