Phone Number
Phone Number

The O. Henry Prize Stories#100th Anniversary Edition (2019)

Category: Book
Edited By: Furman, Laura
Series: O. Henry Prize Collection, The
Subject:  FICTION / Anthologies (multiple authors)
  FICTION / Literary
  FICTION / Short Stories (single author)
Publisher: Anchor
Published: September 2019
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 496
Size: 8.00in x 5.18in
List Price:
$ 22.95
Our Price:
$ 21.95
(4% Off)
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Now celebrating its centenary, this prestigious annual anthology gathers the twenty best new short stories published in the previous year. An Anchor Books Original.

The O. Henry Prize Stories 2019--continuing a century-long tradition of cutting-edge literary excellence--contains twenty prize-winning stories chosen from the thousands published in magazines over the previous year. The winning writers are an impressive mix of celebrated names and new, emerging voices. Their stories evoke lives both near and distant, in settings ranging from Jamaica, Houston, and Hawaii to a Turkish coal mine and a drought-ridden Northwestern farm, and feature an engaging array of characters, including Laotian refugees, a Columbian kidnap victim, an eccentric Irish schoolteacher, a woman haunted by a house that cleans itself, and a strangely long-lived rabbit. The uniformly breathtaking stories are accompanied by essays from the eminent jurors on their favorites, observations from the winning writers on what inspired them, and an extensive resource list of magazines.

List of 2019 winners:

Tessa Hadley
John Keeble
Moira McCavana
Rachel Kondo
Sarah Shun-lien Bynum
Stephanie Reents
Alexia Arthurs
Valerie O'Riordan
Patricia Engel
Kenan Orhan
Sarah Hall
Bryan Washington
Isabella Hammad
Weike Wang
Caoilinn Hughes
Souvankham Thammavongsa
Liza Ward
Doua Thao
Alexander MacLeod
John Edgar Wideman

Prize Jurors 2019:  Lynn Freed, Elizabeth Strout, Lara Vapynar
Review Quote*"Widely regarded as the nation's most prestigious awards for short fiction." -The Atlantic Monthly
Biographical NoteLAURA FURMAN's work has appeared in The New Yorker, Vanity Fair, Ploughshares, The Yale Review, and other magazines. She is the founding editor of the highly regarded American Short Fiction (three-time finalist for the American Magazine Award). A former professor at the University of Texas, she lives in Austin. JUROR BIOS: LYNN FREED was born and raised in South Africa. The author of six novels and many widely anthologized stories and essays, she teaches at the University of California, Davis. ELIZABETH STROUT is the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Olive Kitteridge, My Name Is Lucy Barton, and Amy and Isabelle. A winner of the Chicago Tribune Heartland Prize, she has been a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize. LARA VAPNYAR moved from Moscow to Brooklyn in 1994. She is the author of three novels and two story collections and is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship.