The O. Henry Prize Stories 2017

Category: Book
Edited By: Furman, Laura
Series: O. Henry Prize Stories
Subject:  FICTION / Anthologies (multiple authors)
  FICTION / Literary
Publisher: Anchor
Published: September 2017
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 368
Size: 7.98in x 5.17in x 0.78in
Our Price:
$ 22.00
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*The O. Henry Prize Stories 2017 contains twenty breathtaking stories-by a vibrant mix of established and emerging writers-selected by the series editor from the thousands published in literary magazines over the previous year. The collection includes essays by the three eminent guest jurors on their favorite stories, observations from the winning writers on what inspired them, and a comprehensive resource list of the many magazines and journals, both large and small, that publish short fiction. 

"Too Good To Be True," Michelle Huneven
"Something for a Young Woman," Genevieve Plunkett
"The Buddhist," Alan Rossi
"Garments," Tahmima Anam
"Protection," Paola Peroni
"Night Garden," Shruti Swamy
"A Cruelty," Kevin Barry
"Floating Garden," Mary La Chapelle
"The Trusted Traveler," Joseph O'Neill
"Blue Dot," Keith Eisner
"Lion," Wil Weitzel
"Paddle to Canada," Heather Monley
"A Small Sacrifice for an Enormous Happiness," Jai Chakrabarti
"The Bride and the Street Party," Kate Cayley
"Secret Lives of the Detainees," Amit Majmudar
"Glory," Lesley Nneka Arimah
"Mercedes Benz," Martha Cooley
"The Reason Is Because," Manuel Muñoz
"The Family Whistle," Gerard Woodward
"Buttony," Fiona McFarlane

The jurors this year are David Bradley, Elizabeth McCracken, and Brad Watson.
For author interviews, photos, and more, go to
Biographical NoteSeries editor LAURA FURMAN's work has appeared in The New Yorker, Vanity Fair, Ploughshares, The Yale Review, and other magazines. She is the founding editor of the highly regarded American Short Fiction (three-time finalist for the American Magazine Award). A former professor at the University of Texas, she lives in Austin. 

DAVID BRADLEY teaches at the University of Oregon and is the author of The Chaneysville Incident, winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and a finalist for the National Book Award.

ELIZABETH MCCRACKEN, is the author of Thunderstruck and National Book Award finalist The Giant's House. She teaches at the University of Texas, Austin, and has received awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the Guggenheim Foundation.

BRAD WATSON teaches at the University of Wyoming, Laramie. His novel The Heaven of Mercury was a finalist for the National Book Award, and his Aliens in the Prime of Their Lives was a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award.