The Art of Breaking Things

Category: Book
By (author): Sibson, Laura
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Art
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Sexual Abuse
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Viking Children's Books
Published: June 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 400
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 24.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won't stay silent.

Weekends are for partying with friends while trying to survive the mindnumbingness that is high school. The countdown to graduation is on, and Skye has her sights set on escaping to art school and not looking back.

But her party-first-ask-questions-later lifestyle starts to crumble when her mom rekindles her romance with the man who betrayed Skye's trust and boundaries when he was supposed to be protecting her. She was too young to understand what was happening at the time, but now she doesn't know whether to run as far away from him as possible or give up her dreams to save her little sister. The only problem is that no one knows what he did to her. How can she reveal the secret she's guarded for so long?

With the help of her best friend and the only boy she's ever trusted, Skye might just find the courage she needs to let her art speak for her when she's out of words. After years of hiding her past, she must become her own best ally.
Review Quote*Raves for The Art of Breaking Things:

"The next time you think you know all about the school slut, the druggie, the vandal-think again. People are more complex than their reputations, and nowhere is that more apparent than in Laura Sibson's powerful novel about female empowerment."
-Leila Sales, author of This Song Will Save Your Life
 
"The Art of Breaking Things is a precious and daring work; an ode to the healing powers of the creative spirit. Skye breaks your heart just before she mends it back together. From the beginning, readers will believe in Skye because of how deeply and empathetically Sibson depicts Skye's artistic vision and genuine, searching soul."
-Cordelia Jensen, author of Skyscraping and The Way the Light Bends
 
"This book is a battle cry for the silent, scared, and shattered places inside us. Unflinching and lionhearted, this powerful novel is going to change lives and heal hearts."
-Heather Demetrios, author of Bad Romance

"Sibson has created a flawed and likable narrator who attempts to work through cause and effect, shame and secrecy, avoidance and obligation. With layered nuance, the novel brings to light the impact of sexual assault and the importance of consent.... Triumphant."-Kirkus Reviews
Biographical NoteLaura Sibson worked for years as a career counselor for undergraduates before getting her MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. When she's not writing, counseling, or drinking impossibly strong coffee, you can find her running miles around her home in Philadelphia, walking her dog, or ingesting pop culture (along with great takeout) with her family.