Lessons in Chemistry

Category: Book
By (author): Garmus, Bonnie
Subject:  FICTION / Contemporary Women
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Literary
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Published: April 2022
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 400
Size: 9.25in x 6.12in
Our Price:
$ 24.95
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*A delight for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette, this blockbuster debut set in 1960s California features the singular voice of Elizabeth Zott, a scientist whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show.
 


Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing as an average woman. But it's the 1960s and despite the fact that she is a scientist, her peers are very unscientific when it comes to equality. The only good thing to happen to her on the road to professional fulfillment is a run-in with her super-star colleague Calvin Evans (well, she stole his beakers). The only man who ever treated her-and her ideas-as equal, Calvin is already a legend and Nobel nominee. He's also awkward, kind and tenacious. Theirs is true chemistry. 
 
But as events are never as predictable as chemical reactions, three years later Elizabeth Zott is an unwed, single mother (did we mention it's the early 60s?) and the star of America's most beloved cooking show Supper at Six. Elizabeth's singular approach to cooking ("take one pint of H2O and add a pinch of sodium chloride") and independent example are proving revolutionary. Because Elizabeth isn't just teaching women how to cook, she's teaching them how to change the status quo.  
 
Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant and studded with a dazzling cast of supporting characters (including the best canine character in years), Lessons in Chemistry is as original and vibrant as its protagonist.
Review Quote*"It's the world versus Elizabeth Zott, an extraordinary woman determined to live on her own terms, and I had no trouble choosing a side. Lessons in Chemistry is a page-turning and highly satisfying tale: zippy, zesty, and Zotty." -Maggie Shipstead, author of Great Circle

"I loved it and am devastated to have finished it." -Nigella Lawson, author of Cook, Eat, Repeat
Biographical NoteBONNIE GARMUS is a copywriter/creative director who has worked for a wide range of clients, in the US and abroad, focusing primarily on technology, medicine and education. She's an open water swimmer from Seattle where she rowed competitively, has lived in Switzerland and Colombia and is lucky enough to have two kickass daughters. She now lives in London with her husband and her dog.