Gork, the Teenage Dragon: A novel

Category: Book
By (author): Hudson, Gabe
Subject:  FICTION / Fantasy / Humorous
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Literary
  FICTION / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Published: July 2017
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 400
Size: 9.25in x 6.25in x 0.75in
Our Price:
$ 33.95
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Fans of Harry Potter and Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy will relish this teenage dragon's spellbinding love story filled with bighearted humor and imagination.

"No good human won't love this dragon named Gork." -Dave Eggers

 
Gork isn't like the other dragons at WarWings Military Academy. He has a gigantic heart, two-inch horns, and an occasional problem with fainting. His nickname is Weak Sauce and his Will to Power ranking is Snacklicious-the lowest in his class. But he is determined not to let any of this hold him back as he embarks on the most important mission of his life: tonight, on the eve of his high school graduation, he must ask a female dragon to be his queen. If she says yes, they'll go off to conquer a foreign planet together. If she says no, Gork becomes a slave.
 
Vying with Jocks, Nerds, Mutants, and Multi-Dimensioners to find his mate, Gork encounters an unforgettable cast of friends and foes, including Dr. Terrible, the mad scientist; Fribby, a robot dragon obsessed with death; and Metheldra, a healer specializing in acupuncture with swords. But finally it is Gork's biggest perceived weakness, his huge heart, that will guide him through his epic quest and help him reach his ultimate destination: planet Earth.
 
A love story, a fantasy, and a coming-of-age story, Gork the Teenage Dragon is a wildly comic, beautifully imagined, and deeply heartfelt debut novel that shows us just how human a dragon can be.
Review Quote*"No good human won't love this dragon named Gork." -Dave Eggers

Advance Praise for Gabe Hudson's Gork, the Teenage Dragon

"In the long and august tradition of literary masterpieces about sentient adolescent dragons from outer space, this is no doubt the greatest of the genre. Gork, the Teenage Dragon combines so many things I count on in fiction I love-great expansive humor, a big-hearted optimism about all that's possible in the world and in fiction, a very clear moral purpose and a sense of social responsibility-plus a willingness to experiment with the form of writing, to push the art of writing further, and with passion. Gabe Hudson has crafted a very sensitive and very funny book from the most serious of subjects: interplanetary acceptance for giant lizards." -Dave Eggers, author of Heroes of the Frontier and The Circle
 
"An epic love story that is wondrous, enchanting, hilarious, and heartrending. This dragon Gork is a direct descendant of Huck Finn and Holden Caulfield, and his voice is a marvel of comic timing and pathos. Gabe Hudson's satiric gifts and mind-bending imagination place him in the ranks of Kurt Vonnegut and Mark Twain. Gork, the Teenage Dragon is sure to become an instant classic, destined to be loved by all sorts of readers through the ages." -Akhil Sharma, author of Family Life

"Gork, the Teenage Dragon is jam-packed with outrageous storytelling and soulful humor in the glorious American tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Mark Twain. Who knew a dragon's coming-of-age story could be filled with so much humanity? When I finished reading this book, I wiped a tear from my eye, stood up, got drunk, fell down, stood up again and gave the book a standing ovation. Gabe Hudson may well be the funniest writer working today, and the most likely to break your heart." -Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story 
Biographical NoteGABE HUDSON is the author of Dear Mr. President, a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award and winner of the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Hudson was named one of Granta's 20 Best of Young American Novelists and was a recipient of the Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University, the John Hawkes Prize in Fiction from Brown University, and the Adele Steiner Burleson Award in Fiction from the University of Texas at Austin. His writing has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, The Village Voice, McSweeney's, Black Book, and Granta. For many years, he was Editor-at-Large for McSweeney's. He lives in Brooklyn.