Phone Number
Phone Number

The Complete Stories

Category: Book
Introduction By: Giroux, Robert
By (author): O'Connor, Flannery
Series: Fsg Classics
Subject:  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Short Stories (single author)
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: Farrar Straus & Giroux
Published: January 1971
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 576
Size: 8.30in x 5.49in x 1.49in
Our Price:
$ 20.50
In stock soon

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*The publication of The Complete Stories firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime- Everything That Rises Must Converge and A Good Man Is Hard to Find. O'Connor published her first story, "The Geranium," in 1946, while she was working on her master's degree at the University of Iowa. Arranged chronologically, this collection shows that her last story, "Judgment Day"-sent to her publisher shortly before her death-is a brilliantly rewritten and transfigured version of "The Geranium." Taken together, these stories reveal a lively, penetrating talent that has given us some of the most powerful and disturbing fiction of the twentieth century. Also included is an introduction by O'Connor's longtime editor and friend, Robert Giroux.
Review Quote*What we lost when she died is bitter. What we have is astonishing: the stories burn brighter than ever, and strike deeper. -Walter Clemons, Newsweek
Biographical NoteFlannery O'Connor was born in Savannah, Georgia, in 1925. A devout Catholic, she lived most of her life on a farm in Milledgeville, Georgia, where she raised peacocks and wrote. She was the author of two novels, Wise Blood and The Violent Bear It Away ; thirty-one short stories; and numerous essays and reviews. When she died at the age of thirty-nine, America lost one of its most gifted writers at the height of her powers.