What Big Teeth

Category: Book
By (author): Szabo, Rose
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Horror
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Magical Realism
Audience: young adult
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Published: February 2021
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 400
Size: 8.25in x 5.37in x 1.24in
Our Price:
$ 25.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

"With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading." -Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Rose Szabo's thrilling debut is a dark fantasy novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls.

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together-in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Exquisitely terrifying, beautiful, and strange, this fierce gothic fantasy will sink its teeth into you and never let go.

Review Quote*

"With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading." - Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

"Deliciously gothic and wonderfully creepy." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW

"Shadowy, gothic, labyrinthine." - Kirkus

"... one part haunting mystery, one part dark fantasy ... This darkly thrilling gothic fantasy will appeal to fans of Karen McManus and Maggie Stiefvater alike." - School Library Journal

"A tale so gorgeously twisty, it'll turn you inside out." - Tor.com

Biographical NoteRose Szabo is a nonbinary writer from Richmond, VA, where they live with an assortment of people and animals. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU. Their work has been published in See the Elephant and Quaint magazines. What Big Teeth is their first novel.