The Buried Giant: A Novel

Category: Book
By (author): Ishiguro, Kazuo
Subject:  FICTION / Action & Adventure
  FICTION / Fantasy / Historical
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Literary
Publisher: Knopf Random Vintage Canada
Published: January 2016
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 352
Size: 8.00in x 5.20in x 0.90in
Our Price:
$ 21.00
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

The extraordinary new novel from the author of Never Let Me Go and the Booker Prize­–winning The Remains of the Day
The Romans have long since departed, and Britain is steadily declining into ruin. But at least the wars that once ravaged the country have ceased.

The Buried Giant
begins as a couple, Axl and Beatrice, set off across a troubled land of mist and rain in the hope of finding a son they have not seen for years. They expect to face many hazards-some strange and other-worldly-but they cannot yet foresee how their journey will reveal to them dark and forgotten corners of their love for one another.

Sometimes savage, often intensely moving, Kazuo Ishiguro's first novel in a decade is about lost memories, love, revenge and war.

Review Quote*"Kazuo Ishiguro is an original and remarkable genius." -The New York Times

"A master craftsman." -Margaret Atwood, Slate

"Kazuo Ishiguro is a great novelist, maybe the best of our generation….  His best novels… stay with you long after the reading." -André Alexis, The Globe and Mail

"A new and precise voice has emerged into English literature and a keen eye sees the world from its individual angle." -William Golding

"Kazuo Ishiguro is a great novelist, maybe the best of our generation." -Andre Alexis, The Globe and Mail

"Kazuo Ishiguro is an original and remarkable genius." -The New York Times
Biographical NoteKAZUO ISHIGURO was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and moved to Britain at the age of 5. He is the author of 6 novels: A Pale View of Hills (1982, Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize), An Artist of the Floating World (1986, Whitbread Book of the Year Award, Premio Scanno, shortlisted for the Booker Prize), The Remains of the Day (1989, winner of the Booker Prize), The Unconsoled (1995, winner of the Cheltenham Prize), When We Were Orphans (2000, shortlisted for the Booker Prize) and Never Let Me Go (2005, Corine Internationaler Buchpreis, Serono Literary Prize, Casino de Santiago European Novel Award, shortlisted for the Booker Prize). Nocturnes (2009), his connected stories collection, was awarded the Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa International Literary Prize. In 1995 Ishiguro received an OBE for Services to Literature and in 1998 the French decoration of Chevalier de L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.