The Secret Keepers

Category: Book
By (author): Stewart, Trenton Lee
Illustrated By: Sudyka, Diana
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 10-14
  JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  JUVENILE FICTION / Science & Technology
Audience: children/juvenile
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: September 2017
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 512
Size: 0.00in x 0.00in
Our Price:
$ 13.75
Availability:
Available: 3-5 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*A New York Times Bestseller!
Now available in paperback, this heart-pounding mystery adventure, by the author of the New York Times bestselling series The Mysterious Benedict Society, is laced with magic and humor
A magical watch A string of secretsA race against time
When Reuben discovers an extraordinary antique watch, he soon learns it has a secret power and his life takes an intriguing turn. At first he is thrilled with his new treasure, but as one secret leads to another, Reuben finds himself torn between his innately honest nature and the lure to be a hero.
Now he is on a dangerous adventure--full of curious characters, treacherous traps, and hairsbreadth escapes--as he races to solve the mystery before it is too late. Even with fearless Penny, mighty Jack, and the wise Mrs. Genevieve on his side, can Reuben outwit and outmaneuver the sly villain called The Smoke and his devious defenders the Directions and save the city from a terrible fate?
In this ingeniously crafted novel, acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Trenton Lee Stewart invites readers to join the adventure, decipher the clues, and ask themselves the question: Is knowing a secret a gift or a curse?
Review Quote*Praise for The Secret Keepers:
A New York Times BestsellerAn Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade of the Year ChoiceALA Notable Book for ChildrenAmazon #1 Best Book of 2016 for Children ChoiceBank Street College of Education 2017 Best Children's Book of the Year
*"Stewart... has created an exciting, fully imagined world filled with mystery and danger, where children can have real adventures without parental supervision. He doesn't shy from putting the children in true danger, both physical and moral, keeping readers on tenterhooks until the final page."-Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Review Quote**"Fans of Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society and series like it will devour his latest novel. This epic story filled with adventure and twists and turns is certain to keep readers' interest from beginning to end."-School Library Journal (starred review)
Review Quote**"Children will be caught up in the mystery, trying to decipher the clues as they follow Reuben and his new-found friends in their race to save the town from a dreadful future.... All in all, this is another winner from Trenton Lee Stewart."-School Library Connection (starred review)
Review Quote*"There are enough hidden tunnels, concealed traps, enigmatic secrets, hair-raising surprises, quirky characters, and ethical dilemmas to keep the plot buzzing. Fans of the Mysterious Benedict Society series will welcome Stewart's latest puzzling adventure, whose seemingly ordinary hero proves quite extraordinary."-Kirkus Reviews
Review Quote*"The plot builds with a simplicity that slots each element firmly into place before adding complications, leading to a clear, comprehensible line... Stewart is thoroughly in touch with young readers' delight in all things sneaky and hidden."-The Horn Book
Review Quote*"Fans of the Mysterious Benedict Society series will be thrilled to see a new Stewart novel, and this adventure easily lives up to the high bar....The Smoke is an excellent main villain, creepy and oozing menace, and his various henchmen are worthy additions to the novel."-The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Review Quote*Praise for The Mysterious Benedict Society series:
*"Begins with a bang... resembles the otherwordly experience of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory."-Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Review Quote**"Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure."-School Library Journal (starred review)
Review Quote**"Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears."-Booklist (starred review)